Holiday Savings at BAM!
 
DECEMBER BOOK CLUB PICKS

My Brilliant Friend by Elena Ferrante

A modern masterpiece from one of Italy's most acclaimed authors, this rich, intense, and generous-hearted story gives a meticulous portrait of two women that is also the story of a nation and a touching meditation on the nature of friendship.  Read More »

JOIN THE DISCUSSION »

 
NON-FICTION PICK

The Boys in the Boat by Daniel James Brown

For readers of "Unbroken," out of the depths of the Depression comes an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of timesthe improbable, intimate account of how nine working-class boys from the American West showed the world at the 1936 Olympics in Berlin what true grit really meant. It was an unlikely quest from the start. With a team composed of the sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the University of Washington's eight-oar crew team was never expected to defeat the elite teams of the East Coast and Great Britain, yet they did, going on to shock the world by defeating the German team rowing for Adolf Hitler.  Read More »

JOIN THE DISCUSSION »

 
FAITHPOINT PICK

The Confession by Robert Whitlow

"Fans of John Grisham will find much to like here."- Library Journal. Confession is good for the soul, but it could mean death to an ambitious young lawyer. Assistant DA Holt Douglas has made a career of getting confessions from criminals. With a confession in hand, he knows a guilty plea is soon to follow. In the midst of professional success, Holt is haunted by a secret. Read More »

JOIN THE DISCUSSION »

 
KIDS PICK

The Strange Case of Origami Yoda by Tom Angleberger

In this funny, uncannily wise portrait of the dynamics of a sixth-grade class and of the greatness that sometimes comes in unlikely packages, Dwight, a loser, talks to his classmates via an origami finger puppet of Yoda. If that weren't strange enough, the puppet is uncannily wise and prescient. Read More »

JOIN THE DISCUSSION »

 
TEEN PICK

Uglies by Scott Westerfeld

Tally's adventures begin in Uglies, where she learns the truth about what life as a Pretty really means. She rebels against the surgery that will make her a Pretty, but ultimately succumbs.  Read More »

JOIN THE DISCUSSION »

 
LITERARY PICK

The Mathematician's Shiva by Stuart Rojstaczer

For readers of "This Is Where I Leave You "and "Everything Is Illuminated, ""a brilliant and compelling family saga full of warmth, pathos, history and humor" (Jonathan Evison, author of "West of Here") When the greatest female mathematician in history passes away, her son, Alexander "Sasha" Karnokovitch, just wants to mourn his mother in peace. Read More »

JOIN THE DISCUSSION »