Coupon
My Year with Eleanor : A Memoir
by Noelle Hancock


Overview -

I honestly loved this book. Jim Norton, New York Times bestselling author of I Hate Your Guts

Eleanor taught Noelle that, first and foremost, Courage Takes Practice. Her yearlong quest to face her terrors, great and small, is moving, enriching, and hilarious we readers are lucky to be along for the ride.  Read more...


 
Hardcover
  • $24.99

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

Limited Availability. Allow Additional 2-4 Weeks for Shipping.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 17 copies from $4.89
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About My Year with Eleanor by Noelle Hancock
 
 
 
Overview

I honestly loved this book. Jim Norton, New York Times bestselling author of I Hate Your Guts

Eleanor taught Noelle that, first and foremost, Courage Takes Practice. Her yearlong quest to face her terrors, great and small, is moving, enriching, and hilarious we readers are lucky to be along for the ride. Julie Powell, bestselling author of Julie & Julia

In the tradition of My Year of Living Biblically and Eat Pray Love comes My Year with Eleanor, Noelle Hancock s hilarious tale of her decision to heed the advice of First Lady Eleanor Roosevelt and do one thing a day that scares her in the year before her 30th birthday. Fans of Sloane Crosley and Chelsea Handler will absolutely adore Hancock s charming and outrageous chronicle of her courageous endeavor and delight in her poignant and inspiring personal growth."

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780061875038
  • ISBN-10: 0061875031
  • Publisher: Ecco Pr
  • Publish Date: June 2011
  • Page Count: 295


Related Categories

Books > Biography & Autobiography > Personal Memoirs

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2011-05-09
  • Reviewer: Staff

In this lighthearted and often funny memoir, Hancock, who was an entertainment writer at high-profile publications and Web sites like the New York Observer, US Weekly, and PageSix.com, tells of getting laid off shortly before her 29th birthday, suddenly finding herself anxious and aimless: "For the first time in my life, I had no idea what to do." Inspiration came in the form of a framed Eleanor Roosevelt quote hanging on the wall of a cafe: "Do one thing every day that scares you." Hancock makes that her mantra: she debuts at Trapeze School New York and follows up with tap-dancing, shark diving, and flying a plane at civilian mock air-combat school, and, perhaps most terrifying, performing standup comedy. In between adventures, Hancock visits with her funny, savvy therapist, Dr. Bob, and gets closer to her spiritual mentor via extensive reading about and by Eleanor. She brings her experiences to vivid life and, through her interest in and compassion for Eleanor, is kinder to herself; there is plenty to entertain and inspire. (July)

 
BookPage Reviews

Facing fears with the First Lady

“Do one thing every day that scares you.” Most people reading that quote by Eleanor Roosevelt, if at all disenchanted with themselves for leading less than robust lives, would feel a momentary rekindling of their “inner warrior” attitude. They would take it as a gentle reminder and might silently vow to wrest more out of life, to challenge themselves more frequently, to be a little braver and bolder. But when Noelle Hancock sees it written on a chalkboard in a coffee shop, she adopts it as her mantra—literally! My Year With Eleanor is a delightful memoir of her journey out of fear and anxiety with the former “First Lady of the World” as her imitable guide.

At the book’s opening, Hancock has been seeing a therapist, Dr. Bob, for about a year (a decision that came about, she writes, “when I realized I knew more about Jennifer Aniston than I did about myself”); her lucrative, but less-than-soul-fulfilling job as a blogger for a celebrity-themed website has just gone kaput; and her next birthday looms ahead. When she discusses the Roosevelt quote with Dr. Bob, he says, “This could be a good project for you. You should run with this,” and ultimately, she does.

Delving further into Eleanor Roosevelt’s writings, she is moved and inspired by Eleanor’s life story: her early timidity, her heartbreaks and sorrows, and her eventual triumph over immobilizing insecurity. Buoyed by Eleanor’s example, on her 29th birthday, Hancock begins a year-long struggle to “do one thing each day” that scares her before she turns 30. With no paying job, and her parents still wishing she’d go to law school, she kicks off the project by taking a trapeze class, and after much heart-pounding trepidation, she finally hops from the elevated platform and takes her first “exhilarating and dreadful” plunge toward self-confidence.

With unwavering and witty self-analysis (and Eleanor’s “mentoring”), Hancock embarks on an uncomfortable but never-a-dull-moment voyage of self-discovery and daring. Sometimes her challenges are more physical—sky diving, hiking Kilimanjaro and taking fighter pilot lessons—while some are fear-provoking on other levels—like singing karaoke, doing stand-up comedy or volunteering in a cancer ward. But whether she is confronting terrifying sharks in a diving cage or her tangled feelings about her boyfriend Nick, she demonstrates how thrilling it can be to face your fears. I double-dare you to read this book!

 

 
BAM Customer Reviews