(0)
 
The Forbidden Stone
by Tony Abbott and Bill Perkins

Overview -

Bestselling author Tony Abbott's epic new middle-grade series the Copernicus Legacy begins with The Forbidden Stone, a thrilling adventure packed with puzzles, intrigue, and action.

Wade, Lily, Darrell, and Becca fly from Texas to Germany for the funeral of an old family friend.  Read more...


 
Hardcover
  • Retail Price: $16.99
  • $13.00
    (Save 23%)

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
Not a member? Join Today!
 
 
New & Used Marketplace 30 copies from $6.67
 
 
 
 

More About The Forbidden Stone by Tony Abbott; Bill Perkins
 
 
 
Overview

Bestselling author Tony Abbott's epic new middle-grade series the Copernicus Legacy begins with The Forbidden Stone, a thrilling adventure packed with puzzles, intrigue, and action.

Wade, Lily, Darrell, and Becca fly from Texas to Germany for the funeral of an old family friend. But instead of just paying their respects, they wind up on a dangerous, mind-blowing quest to unlock an ancient, guarded secret that could destroy the fate of the world.

Fans of Rick Riordan and Ridley Pearson will love this first book in an exciting series that takes the reader all over the globe in a race to find pieces of a mysterious hidden past--before it's too late.

Supports the Common Core State Standards.


 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780062194473
  • ISBN-10: 006219447X
  • Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
  • Publish Date: January 2014
  • Page Count: 423
  • Reading Level: Ages 9-12

Series: Copernicus Legacy #1

Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Action & Adventure - General
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Fantasy & Magic
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Historical - Renaissance

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2013-11-11
  • Reviewer: Staff

In this strong, ambitious start to the Copernicus Legacy series, Abbott (the Secrets of Droon) sends four protagonists on a globe-spanning adventure as they attempt to reclaim lost artifacts before a secret organization realizes its evil agenda. Working through a series of centuries-old puzzles and clues, stepbrothers Wade and Darrell Kaplan and their friends Lily and Becca, accompanied by Wade’s astrophysicist father, attempt to unravel the mystery of a device built by the astronomer Copernicus. As their search takes them from Germany to Italy and Guam, they unravel ciphers, translate lost diaries, and both outwit and outrun the fiendish, murderous Teutonic Order. With 12 artifacts to be found over 12 planned installments, a mix of novels and novellas, there’s no denying the epic scope of this storyline. Fast-paced and clever, the novel reads like a mashup of the National Treasure films and The Da Vinci Code; it’s a thriller that engages the intellect even as it rummages through history for inspiration and journeys to far-flung locales. Ages 8–12. Agent: George Nicholson, Sterling Lord Literistic. (Jan.)

 
BookPage Reviews

Ancient puzzles and a thrilling adventure

It all started with an email—an email that Wade and Darrell, stepbrothers and best friends who are as different as possible, were never meant to read. It was a coded email addressed to Wade’s father, written by Wade’s Uncle Henry shortly before he died under very mysterious circumstances. In The Forbidden Stone, the first book in Tony Abbott’s Copernicus Legacy series, Wade and Darrell—along with Wade’s father, Darrell’s cousin Lily and Lily’s friend Becca—travel to Germany to attend Henry’s funeral. However, once they arrive, they are drawn into a frantic race to uncover secrets guarded for hundreds of years.

But they are not running this race alone. A dangerous organization will stop at nothing to uncover the mysterious relics first. Wade, Darrell, Lily and Becca must stay one step ahead, solving mysteries, cracking codes and piecing together puzzles, many of which date back more than 500 years. They must travel throughout Europe and then the world, into places well known and forgotten, and follow the path that Nicholas Copernicus set for them, in order to gain the first of 12 artifacts.

Intricately written, meticulously researched and full of wit and humor, The Forbidden Stone is a thrilling start to what will surely become a must-read series.

 
BAM Customer Reviews

DISCUSSION