Coupon
The Paradox of Vertical Flight
by Emil Ostrovski


Overview -

Hilarious, deeply moving, mind-bending, original, romantic, and surprising, this debut teen novel by Emil Ostrovski will appeal to fans of John Green, Chris Crutcher, and Andrew Smith. Gary Shteyngart, author of the New York Times bestseller Super Sad True Love Story , says: "Do yourself a favor and get inside a car with Emil Ostrovski immediately The Paradox of Vertical Flight is an amazing road trip.  Read more...


 
Hardcover
  • $17.99
Sorry: This item is not currently available.

Item not eligible for special discounts or coupons.
This item is Non-Returnable.
Free Shipping is not available for this item.
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 24 copies from $2.99
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 

More About The Paradox of Vertical Flight by Emil Ostrovski
 
 
 
Overview

Hilarious, deeply moving, mind-bending, original, romantic, and surprising, this debut teen novel by Emil Ostrovski will appeal to fans of John Green, Chris Crutcher, and Andrew Smith. Gary Shteyngart, author of the New York Times bestseller Super Sad True Love Story, says: "Do yourself a favor and get inside a car with Emil Ostrovski immediately The Paradox of Vertical Flight is an amazing road trip. You're in for one heck of a ride." An Indie Next Pick

On the morning of his eighteenth birthday, Jack Polovsky kidnaps his own baby, names him Socrates, stocks up on baby supplies at Walmart, and hits the road with his best friend, Tommy, and with the baby's mother, Jess. As they head to Grandma's house (eluding the police at every turn), Jack tells baby Socrates the Greek myths--because all stories spring from those stories, really. Even this one. By turns funny, heart wrenching, and wholly original, this debut novel by Emil Ostrovski explores the nature of family, love, friendship, fatherhood, and myth.

"Shares a sense of humor and philosophical bent with such YA authors as John Green and Chris Crutcher. But the story and likable characters are Ostrovsky's own, a delightful mix of quirky, intelligent, naive, well-intentioned, and just plain dumb teens. A delightful success."--ALA Booklist



This item is Non-Returnable.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780062238528
  • ISBN-10: 0062238523
  • Publisher: Greenwillow Books
  • Publish Date: September 2013
  • Page Count: 256
  • Reading Level: Ages 14-UP
  • Dimensions: 8.55 x 5.76 x 0.95 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.78 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Young Adult Fiction > Social Themes - General (see also headings under Family)
Books > Young Adult Fiction > Humorous - General
Books > Young Adult Fiction > Family - Alternative Family

 
BAM Customer Reviews