Coupon
American Street
by Ibi Zoboi


Overview -

A National Book Award Finalist with five starred reviews

A New York Times Notable Book * Publishers Weekly Flying Start * Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year * ALA Booklist Editors' Choice of 2017 (Top of the List winner) * School Library Journal Best Book of the Year * Kirkus Best Book of the Year * BookPage Best YA Book of the Year

American Street is an evocative and powerful coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Everything, Everything ; Bone Gap ; and All American Boys Read more...


 
In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 34 copies from $7.00
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About American Street by Ibi Zoboi
 
 
 
Overview

A National Book Award Finalist with five starred reviews

A New York Times Notable Book * Publishers Weekly Flying Start * Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year * ALA Booklist Editors' Choice of 2017 (Top of the List winner) * School Library Journal Best Book of the Year * Kirkus Best Book of the Year * BookPage Best YA Book of the Year

American Street is an evocative and powerful coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Everything, Everything; Bone Gap; and All American Boys.

In this stunning debut novel, Pushcart-nominated author Ibi Zoboi draws on her own experience as a young Haitian immigrant, infusing this lyrical exploration of America with magical realism and vodou culture.

On the corner of American Street and Joy Road, Fabiola Toussaint thought she would finally find une belle vie--a good life.

But after they leave Port-au-Prince, Haiti, Fabiola's mother is detained by U.S. immigration, leaving Fabiola to navigate her loud American cousins, Chantal, Donna, and Princess; the grittiness of Detroit's west side; a new school; and a surprising romance, all on her own.

Just as she finds her footing in this strange new world, a dangerous proposition presents itself, and Fabiola soon realizes that freedom comes at a cost. Trapped at the crossroads of an impossible choice, will she pay the price for the American dream?


 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780062473059
  • ISBN-10: 0062473050
  • Publisher: Balzer & Bray/Harperteen
  • Publish Date: May 2018
  • Page Count: 352
  • Reading Level: Ages 14-UP
  • Dimensions: 7.9 x 5.2 x 0.9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.6 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Young Adult Fiction > Social Themes - Emigration & Immigration
Books > Young Adult Fiction > Social Themes - New Experience
Books > Young Adult Fiction > Family - Parents

 
BAM Customer Reviews