Coupon
The Memory Book
by Lara Avery


Overview - Perfect for fans of Everything, Everything and Five Feet Apart , a bittersweet story of love and loss, told one journal entry at a time.

Sammie McCoy is a girl with a plan: graduate at the top of her class and get out of her small town as soon as possible.  Read more...


 
In Stock. Place Order by Noon EST December 18th and Choose Free/Standard Shipping for Christmas Delivery.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 53 copies from $3.45
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. and Canada billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About The Memory Book by Lara Avery
 
 
 
Overview
Perfect for fans of Everything, Everything and Five Feet Apart, a bittersweet story of love and loss, told one journal entry at a time.

Sammie McCoy is a girl with a plan: graduate at the top of her class and get out of her small town as soon as possible. Nothing will stand in her way-not even the rare genetic disorder the doctors say will slowly steal her memories and then her health.

So the memory book is born: a journal written to Sammie's future self. It's where she'll record every perfect detail of her first date with longtime-crush Stuart, and where she'll admit how much she's missed her childhood friend Cooper. The memory book will ensure Sammie never forgets the most important parts of her life-the people who have broken her heart, and those who have mended it. If Sammie's going to die, she's going to die living.


 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780316283748
  • ISBN-10: 0316283746
  • Publisher: Poppy Books
  • Publish Date: July 2016
  • Page Count: 368
  • Reading Level: Ages 14-17
  • Dimensions: 8.5 x 5.7 x 1.3 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.05 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Young Adult Fiction > Health & Daily Living - Diseases, Illnesses & Injuries
Books > Young Adult Fiction > Romance - Contemporary
Books > Young Adult Fiction > Social Themes - Death, Grief, Bereavement

 
BookPage Reviews

Memories soon to be lost

BookPage Teen Top Pick, July 2016

In Lara Avery’s heartfelt, funny and bittersweet new novel, a gifted teen’s future is derailed when she’s diagnosed with a debilitating genetic condition. High school valedictorian Sammie McCoy can’t wait to escape small-town Vermont and start college at NYU. But when she learns she has Niemann-Pick Type C (NPC), her freshman-year plans begin to look unlikely. “Basically,” Sammie says of NPC, “it’s dementia.” 

Due to the disorder, Sammie will eventually lose her memory, and so she begins chronicling the major events and little details of her life on a laptop, “writing to remember” all the things she’s bound to forget. Meanwhile, she hides her condition from her friends, which works just fine until she bungles a critical debate-club tournament.

Avery is a skillful storyteller who lets Sammie’s decline unfold gradually over the course of the novel. From the start, Sammie comes across as smart and sassy, an overachiever with all the answers, but as NPC takes over, she regresses. Her thoughts and perspectives become less sophisticated, more childlike—a reflection of her inner deterioration. Avery fleshes out the narrative with a cast of authentic characters, including Maddie, Sammie’s debate-club partner (who sports an electric-red mohawk), and Stuart, a handsome would-be writer and Sammie’s longtime crush. 

Avery presents Sammie’s story not as a tragedy but as a tale of self-discovery. Without lapsing into sentiment or melodrama, she tackles big questions in a style that teen readers will find appealing. The Memory Book is a memorable read, indeed.

 

This article was originally published in the July 2016 issue of BookPage. Download the entire issue for the Kindle or Nook.

 
BAM Customer Reviews