(0)
 
The Sweetest Dark
by Shana Abe

Overview - For fans of Lauren Kate and Libba Bray, "The Sweetest Dark "is filled with thrilling romance, exciting adventure, and ancient magic. Shana Abe brilliantly captures the drama of post-Victorian England, while unfolding a passionate love story that defies time.  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • Retail Price: $16.00
  • $14.18
    (Save 11%)

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock. Usually ships within 24 hours.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
Not a member? Join Today!
 
 
New & Used Marketplace 26 copies from $2.99
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 

More About The Sweetest Dark by Shana Abe
 
 
 
Overview
For fans of Lauren Kate and Libba Bray, "The Sweetest Dark "is filled with thrilling romance, exciting adventure, and ancient magic. Shana Abe brilliantly captures the drama of post-Victorian England, while unfolding a passionate love story that defies time.
""With every fiber of my being, I yearned to be normal. To glide through my days at Iverson without incident. But I'd have to face the fact that my life was about to unfold in a very, very different way than I'd ever envisioned. "Normal" would become forever out of reach." "
Lora Jones has always known that she's different. On the outside, she appears to be an ordinary sixteen-year-old girl. Yet Lora's been keeping a heartful of secrets: She hears songs that no one else can hear, dreams vividly of smoke and flight, and lives with a mysterious voice inside her that insists she's far more than what she seems.
England, 1915. Raised in an orphanage in a rough corner of London, Lora quickly learns to hide her unique abilities and avoid attention. Then, much to her surprise, she is selected as the new charity student at Iverson, an elite boarding school on England's southern coast. Iverson's eerie, gothic castle is like nothing Lora has ever seen. And the two boys she meets there will open her eyes and forever change her destiny.
Jesse is the school's groundskeeper--a beautiful boy who recognizes Lora for who and what she truly is. Armand is a darkly handsome and arrogant aristocrat who harbors a few closely guarded secrets of his own. Both hold the answers to her past. One is the key to her future. And both will aim to win her heart. As danger descends upon Iverson, Lora must harness the powers she's only just begun to understand, or else lose everything she dearly loves.
Filled with lush atmosphere, thrilling romance, and ancient magic, "The Sweetest Dark" brilliantly captures a rich historical era while unfolding an enchanting love story that defies time.
Praise for "The Sweetest Dark"
" "
"A wonderfully refreshing story of self-discovery, love, courage--and dragons . . . I was enchanted."--Melissa Marr, "New York Times" bestselling author of "Wicked Lovely"
" "
"Abe creates a rich and refreshing world."--"RT Book Reviews "(four stars)
"Abe's writing is both elegant and beautiful . . . "The Sweetest Dark" is the perfect fantasy read."--Badass Book Reviews
"Strong and spellbinding."--Genre Go Round Reviews


 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780345531704
  • ISBN-10: 0345531701
  • Publisher: Bantam
  • Publish Date: April 2013
  • Page Count: 334
  • Reading Level: Ages 14-UP


Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Fantasy & Magic
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Love & Romance
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Historical - Europe

 
BAM Customer Reviews

DISCUSSION