(0)
 
Cover of Snow
by Jenny Milchman

Overview - WINNER OF THE MARY HIGGINS CLARK AWARD
Jenny Milchman's "Cover of Snow" is a remarkable debut, a gripping tale of suspense in the tradition of Gillian Flynn, Chris Bohjalian, and Nancy Pickard.
Waking up one wintry morning in her old farmhouse nestled in the Adirondack Mountains of New York, Nora Hamilton instantly knows that something is wrong.
  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • Retail Price: $26.00
  • $19.50
    (Save 25%)

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock. Usually ships within 24 hours.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
Not a member? Join Today!
 
 
New & Used Marketplace 101 copies from $2.99
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Cover of Snow by Jenny Milchman
 
 
 
Overview
WINNER OF THE MARY HIGGINS CLARK AWARD
Jenny Milchman's "Cover of Snow" is a remarkable debut, a gripping tale of suspense in the tradition of Gillian Flynn, Chris Bohjalian, and Nancy Pickard.
Waking up one wintry morning in her old farmhouse nestled in the Adirondack Mountains of New York, Nora Hamilton instantly knows that something is wrong. When her fog of sleep clears, she finds her world is suddenly, irretrievably shattered: Her husband, Brendan, has committed suicide.
The first few hours following Nora's devastating discovery pass for her in a blur of numbness and disbelief. Then, a disturbing awareness slowly settles in: Brendan left no note and gave no indication that he was contemplating taking his own life. Why would a rock-solid police officer with unwavering affection for his wife, job, and quaint hometown suddenly choose to end it all? Having spent a lifetime avoiding hard truths, Nora must now start facing them.
Unraveling her late husband's final days, Nora searches for an explanation--but finds a bewildering resistance from Brendan's best friend and partner, his fellow police officers, and his brittle mother. It quickly becomes clear to Nora that she is asking questions no one wants to answer. For beneath the soft cover of snow lies a powerful conspiracy that will stop at nothing to keep its presence unknown . . . and its darkest secrets hidden.
Praise for "Cover of Snow"
"Well-defined characters take us on an emotional roller-coaster ride through the darkest night, with blinding twists and occasionally fatal turns. This is a richly woven story that not only looks at the devastating effects of suicide but also examines life in a small town and explores the complexity of marriage. Fans of Nancy Pickard, Margaret Maron, and C. J. Box will be delighted to find this new author."--"Booklist" (starred review)
"Milchman reveals an intimate knowledge of the psychology of grief, along with a painterly gift for converting frozen feelings into scenes of a forbidding winter landscape."--"The New York Times"
"Milchman makes readers] feel the chill right down to their bones and casts a particularly effective mood in this stylish thriller."--"Kirkus Reviews"
"Milchman tackles small-town angst where evil can simmer under the surface with a breathless energy and a feel for realistic characters."--"The Seattle Times"
"The plot unfolds at an excellent clip . . . ultimately rushing headlong to a series of startling revelations."--San Francisco Journal of Books
"Milchman expertly conveys Nora's grief in a way that will warm hearts even in the dead of a Wedeskyull winter."--"Publishers Weekly" (starred review)

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780345534217
  • ISBN-10: 0345534212
  • Publisher: Ballantine Books
  • Publish Date: January 2013
  • Page Count: 326


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Psychological
Books > Fiction > Thrillers - Suspense
Books > Fiction > Thrillers - General

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2012-10-29
  • Reviewer: Staff

When house restorer Nora Hamilton finds that her policeman husband, Brendan, has hanged himself, her image of their idyllic life in Brendan’s Adirondacks hometown of Wedeskyull, N.Y., is shattered in Milchman’s evocative debut. Yet Nora is not content to accept her husband’s death as a suicide. As she tries to make sense of the tragedy and investigate, Brendan’s mother and his police co-workers stonewall her. Refusing to simply move on, Nora discovers more and more things about Brendan that don’t add up. Why did he get a prescription for sedatives a week before committing suicide? What does the death of his brother exactly 25 years before have to do with anything? The townsfolk’s reticence to answer these questions only further compels her to uncover the truth about Brendan’s past. Milchman expertly conveys Nora’s grief in a way that will warm hearts even in the dead of a Wedeskyull winter. Agent, Julia Kenny, Markson Thoma Literary. (Jan.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews

DISCUSSION