(0)
 
The Deepest Secret
by Carla Buckley

Overview - For fans of Jodi Picoult, Kim Edwards, and William Landay, "The Deepest Secret "is part intimate family drama, part gripping page-turner, exploring the profound power of the truths we're scared to face . . . about our marriages, our children, and ourselves.  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • Retail Price: $26.00
  • $20.02
    (Save 23%)

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock. Usually ships within 24 hours.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
Not a member? Join Today!
 
 
New & Used Marketplace 100 copies from $3.87
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About The Deepest Secret by Carla Buckley
 
 
 
Overview
For fans of Jodi Picoult, Kim Edwards, and William Landay, "The Deepest Secret "is part intimate family drama, part gripping page-turner, exploring the profound power of the truths we're scared to face . . . about our marriages, our children, and ourselves.
Eve Lattimore's family is like every other on their suburban street, with one exception. Her son Tyler has a rare medical condition that makes him fatally sensitive to light, which means heavy curtains and deadlocked doors protect him during the day and he can never leave the house except at night. For Eve, only constant vigilance stands between an increasingly restless teenage son and the dangers of the outside world.
Until the night the unthinkable happens. When tragedy strikes, it becomes clear that this family is not the only one on the quiet cul-de-sac that is more complicated than it appears. And as Eve is forced to shield her family from harm, there are some crises she cannot control--and some secrets that not even love can conceal.
Deeply moving and stunningly suspenseful, "The Deepest Secret "is a novel of rare power--a story about hope and forgiveness, about the terrifying ways our lives can spin out of control and the unexpected sacrifices that may save us.
Praise for "The Deepest Secret"
"A taut family drama . . . smart and thrilling."--"People"
"Elegant, poignant, and utterly riveting . . . a suspenseful tale of love, forgiveness, and sacrifice that will leave you asking how far a mother really should go to protect her family and wondering about the cost of the secrets we all keep, even from ourselves."--Kimberly McCreight, "New York Times "bestselling author of "Reconstructing Amelia"
"Exceptionally moving and unrelentingly suspenseful . . . everything a great novel, and thriller, should be.""--Providence Journal"
"Superb . . . The story offers the intricate suspense and surprise of a thriller, along with rich characterizations and nuanced writing. . . . A gripping read and a memorable reflection on the conflicting imperatives of love."--"Publishers Weekly" (starred review)
" "
"Carla Buckley masterfully portrays an ordinary family trapped in a heart-wrenching crisis."--William Landay, "New York Times "bestselling author of "Defending Jacob"
" "
"Fans of Jodi Picoult will enjoy this compelling blend of ripped-from-the-headlines suspense and close-to-your-heart characters."--Lisa Gardner, #1 "New York Times "bestselling author of "Fear Nothing"

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780345535245
  • ISBN-10: 0345535243
  • Publisher: Bantam
  • Publish Date: February 2014
  • Page Count: 427


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Sagas
Books > Fiction > Contemporary Women

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2013-12-02
  • Reviewer: Staff

In Buckley’s (Invisible) superb third novel, ordinary human nature and extraordinary circumstances collide to powerful effect. The story offers the intricate suspense and surprise of a thriller, along with rich characterizations and nuanced writing. Teenager Tyler Lattimore has xeroderma pigmentosum, which makes the slightest exposure to ultraviolet light potentially fatal. His mother, Eve, shapes their lives around his safekeeping, struggling to nurture her husband and daughter while managing Tyler’s complex needs. On the way to the airport one rainy night, Eve’s car hits something as she is texting. Horrified, she discovers not an animal but her best friend Charlotte’s young daughter, dead, alongside a deserted road. If she simply drives on, Charlotte will suffer terror, confusion, perhaps even accusation. Yet reporting the accident risks jail time and depriving Tyler of Eve’s protection, and Eve of precious moments in his fragile life. As Eve faces her choice, Tyler reaches for freedom and normalcy under cover of darkness. The story’s suburban world is beautifully observed, its characters convincing, flawed, and sympathetic. Ultimately, Buckley delivers a gripping read and a memorable reflection on the conflicting imperatives of love. (Feb.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews

DISCUSSION