(0)
 
Chasing Shadows
by Swati Avasthi and Craig Phillips

Overview -

"A superb novel about grief, friendship, and mental illness, mixing in graphic-novel elements and themes from Hindu mythology." --"Publishers Weekly, " Starred
Corey, Holly, and Savitri are closer than family until a random act of violence shatters their world.  Read more...


 
Hardcover
  • Retail Price: $17.99
  • $13.84
    (Save 23%)

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
Not a member? Join Today!
 
 
New & Used Marketplace 34 copies from $2.99
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Chasing Shadows by Swati Avasthi; Craig Phillips
 
 
 
Overview

"A superb novel about grief, friendship, and mental illness, mixing in graphic-novel elements and themes from Hindu mythology." --"Publishers Weekly, " Starred
Corey, Holly, and Savitri are closer than family until a random act of violence shatters their world. A gunman shoots at their car, leaving Corey dead, Holly in a coma, and Savitri the sole witness to the crime.
When Holly wakes up, she is changed--determined to hunt down Corey's killer, whatever the cost. Savitri fears that Holly is running wild, losing her grip on reality. Friends should stand by each other in times of crisis. But can you hold on too tight? Too long?
Swati Avasthi delivers a riveting novel that will appeal to fans of Laini Taylor and Laurie Halse Anderson.
"Haunting, mesmerizing and intense." --"Kirkus Reviews, " Starred
" A] visceral story of love, grief, and madness that is both action-packed and psychologically acute." --"The Horn Book"

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780375863424
  • ISBN-10: 0375863427
  • Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers
  • Publish Date: September 2013
  • Page Count: 308
  • Reading Level: Ages 14-UP

Series: Junior Library Guild Selection

Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Social Issues - Death & Dying
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Comics & Graphic Novels - General
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Social Issues - Friendship

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2013-08-05
  • Reviewer: Staff

Avasthi (Split) delivers a superb novel about grief, friendship, and mental illness, mixing in graphic-novel elements and themes from Hindu mythology. When Holly’s twin brother, Corey, is murdered after a free-running session, Holly and her best friend Savitri (Corey’s girlfriend) are shattered. Savitri reconsiders her plans to leave Chicago to attend Princeton, while Holly, who was also wounded in the attack, has visions of a snake god named Kortha holding her brother hostage in the afterlife. The investigation into the murders is also wreaking havoc on Holly’s parents (especially her police officer father), and a subplot about the friendship between Savitri and Holly’s ex Josh adds depth to the story. Holly’s visions, as well as some real-world action, are told in striking illustrated sequences from Phillips, reflecting Holly’s diehard love of comics and her increasingly uncertain grip on reality. More significantly, Avasthi avoids any pretense of easy, happy answers or shortcuts, offering a painful and realistic vision of the aftershocks of a horrific moment of violence. Ages 14–up. Author’s agent: Rosemary Stimola, Stimola Literary Studio. Illustrator’s agent: Shannon Associates. (Sept.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews

DISCUSSION