(0)
 
Paperboy
by Vince Vawter

Overview -

"Reminiscent of "To Kill a Mockingbird."" --"Booklist, " Starred
"An unforgettable boy and his unforgettable story. I loved it " --ROB BUYEA, author of "Because of Mr. Terupt" and "Mr. Terupt Falls Again"
This Newbery Honor winner is perfect for fans of "To Kill a Mockingbird, ""The King's Speech, " and "The Help." A boy who stutters comes of age in the segregated South, during the summer that changes his life.  Read more...


 
Hardcover
  • Retail Price: $16.99
  • $11.15
    (Save 34%)

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock. Usually ships within 24 hours.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
Not a member? Join Today!
 
 
New & Used Marketplace 16 copies from $8.99
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Paperboy by Vince Vawter
 
 
 
Overview

"Reminiscent of "To Kill a Mockingbird."" --"Booklist, " Starred
"An unforgettable boy and his unforgettable story. I loved it " --ROB BUYEA, author of "Because of Mr. Terupt" and "Mr. Terupt Falls Again"
This Newbery Honor winner is perfect for fans of "To Kill a Mockingbird, ""The King's Speech, " and "The Help." A boy who stutters comes of age in the segregated South, during the summer that changes his life.
Little Man throws the meanest fastball in town. But talking is a whole different ball game. He can barely say a word without stuttering--not even his own name. So when he takes over his best friend's paper route for the month of July, he's not exactly looking forward to interacting with the customers. But it's the neighborhood junkman, a bully and thief, who stirs up real trouble in Little Man's life.
A Newbery Honor Award Winner
An ALA-ALSC Notable Children's Book
An IRA Children's and Young Adults' Choice
An IRA Teachers' Choice
A Bank Street College of Education Best Book of the Year
A National Parenting Publications Award Honor Book
A "BookPage" Best Children's Book
An ABC New Voices Pick
A Junior Library Guild Selection
An ALA-ALSC Notable Children's Recording
An ALA-YALSA Amazing Audiobook
" Vawter's] characterization of Little Man feels deeply authentic, with . . . his fierce desire to be 'somebody instead of just a kid who couldn't talk right.'" --"The Washington Post"
""Paperboy" offers a penetrating look at both the mystery and the daily frustrations of stuttering. People of all ages will appreciate this positive and universal story." --Jane Fraser, president of the Stuttering Foundation of America
" A] tense, memorable story." --"Publishers Weekly, " Starred
"An engaging and heartfelt presentation that never whitewashes the difficult time and situation as Little Man comes of age." --"Kirkus Reviews"
"Vawter portrays a protagonist so true to a disability that one cannot help but empathize with the difficult world of a stutterer." --"School Library Journal"

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780385742443
  • ISBN-10: 0385742444
  • Publisher: Delacorte Press Books for Young Readers
  • Publish Date: May 2013
  • Page Count: 240
  • Reading Level: Ages 10-UP


Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Family - Parents
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Historical - United States - 20th Century
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Social Issues - Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2013-03-18
  • Reviewer: Staff

The name of debut novelist Vawter’s 11-year-old protagonist, Vincent Vollmer III, doesn’t appear until the very end of this tense, memorable story—Vincent’s stutter prevents him from pronouncing it. Vincent is an excellent listener and a keen observer, and the summer of 1959 presents him with the challenge of taking over a friend’s paper route in segregated Memphis. He engages with several neighborhood customers and characters while on the job, gaining new awareness of varied adult worlds, racial tension, and inequality, as well as getting into some dangerous situations. Vawter draws from his own childhood experience at a time “when modern speech therapy techniques were in their infancy,” he writes in an endnote, calling the story “more memoir than fiction.” The story unfolds as Vincent’s typewritten account of the summer, and inventive syntax is used throughout. Commas and quotation marks are verboten—Vincent isn’t a fan of the former, since he has enough extra pauses in his life already—and extra spaces appear between paragraphs, all subtly highlighting his uneasy relationship with the spoken word. Ages 10–up. Agent: Anna Olswanger, Liza Dawson Associates. (May)

 
BAM Customer Reviews

DISCUSSION