(0)
 
Atlantis Rising
by T. A. Barron

Overview - From T.A. Barron, the" New York Times "bestselling author of the Merlin Saga, comes a new fantasy world about the origins of Atlantis, perfect for fans of "The Lord of the Rings, Eragon, The Beyonders" and "Percy Jackson and the Olympians. "
In a magical land called Ellegandia, a young boy named Promi scrapes by, stealing pies, cakes and sweets to survive.
  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • Retail Price: $17.99
  • $12.41
    (Save 31%)

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock. Usually ships within 24 hours.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
Not a member? Join Today!
 
 
New & Used Marketplace 40 copies from $3.55
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Atlantis Rising by T. A. Barron
 
 
 
Overview
From T.A. Barron, the" New York Times "bestselling author of the Merlin Saga, comes a new fantasy world about the origins of Atlantis, perfect for fans of "The Lord of the Rings, Eragon, The Beyonders" and "Percy Jackson and the Olympians. "
In a magical land called Ellegandia, a young boy named Promi scrapes by, stealing pies, cakes and sweets to survive. But little does he know that his country is a pawn in an ages-old war between good and evil, battled both in the spirit realm and in the human world. Harboring secrets of his own, Promi teams up with a courageous girl named Atlanta and the two vow to save their
land--and each other--no matter the cost. But their vow has greater repercussions than they ever could imagine--in fact, it may just bring about the creation of Atlantis, an island cut off from the rest of the world, where magic reigns supreme.
With his trademark action, adventure, and poignancy, master of fantasy, T.A. Barron explores a new mythology--the origin of the legendary isle of Atlantis. This book is perfect for fans of Rick Riordan, Brandon Mull, Christopher Paolini and, of course, T. A. Barron's Merlin Saga.
Praise for T. A. Barron's novels:
"Brilliant, significant, and illuminating . . . an intense and profoundly spiritual adventure."--Lloyd Alexander
"A crescendo of miracles."--Madeleine L'Engle
"Interesting and august . . . compelling."--"The New York Times"
"In the best tradition . . . classic."--"Parents" Magazine

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780399257575
  • ISBN-10: 0399257578
  • Publisher: Philomel Books
  • Publish Date: September 2013
  • Page Count: 384
  • Reading Level: Ages 10-UP

Series: Atlantis Saga #1

Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Action & Adventure - General
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Legends, Myths, & Fables - General
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Fantasy & Magic

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2013-06-03
  • Reviewer: Staff

From its improbable opening chase scene to its sneering, two-dimensional villains (both elements reminiscent of Disney’s Aladdin), this tale from the bestselling author of the Merlin Saga is a lightweight though occasionally gruesome romp. Set in the land of Ellegandia, which is connected to but isolated from North Africa, the story concerns Promi, a teenage thief of dubious ancestry with a near-obsession for pastry. As Barron reveals the origins of the isle of Atlantis, Promi reluctantly accepts that he is the Prophesized one, destined to save his magical land from a priesthood gone rotten and the depredations of an evil god. To do this, he teams up with Atlanta, a beautiful denizen of the Great Forest, “the very heart of Ellegandia’s natural magic”; Kermi, a sentient, blue monkeylike creature with a nasty mouth and hidden powers; and an eclectic mix of other magical beings. Barron’s fast-paced and often funny novel doesn’t offer much moral complexity, and the geography of his world feels somewhat haphazard, but it remains an inventive and entertaining story. Ages 10–up. Agent: Sheldon Fogelman, Sheldon Fogelman Agency. (Sept.)

 
BookPage Reviews

A new Atlantis mythology

Promi is a good thief, maybe one of the best. Armed with only a knife (which he usually steals), he squeaks by, stealing pies, cakes and other sweets to survive. But then he makes a big mistake. In Atlantis Rising, the new book by best-selling author T.A. Barron, Promi makes an enemy of Deputy High Priest Grukkar, and then steals a smackberry pie right out from under the Divine Monk. While enjoying the stolen pie, Promi is caught by Grukkar and thrown into the deepest, darkest dungeon in Ellegandia. It is here, however, that his true adventure begins.

In the dungeon, Promi meets a dying man, a beaten prisoner and a woman with a strange companion. He escapes from the dungeon through mysterious means and awakes as a Listener. The last of his kind, Promi now can influence the world around him, but only at great personal cost.

Atlantis Rising explores a rare mythology—it’s not about the sinking of Atlantis, but instead about the origins of the island. Barron, author of many acclaimed fantasies, creates a story that is thrilling from the opening pages, weaving together magic, prophecy, mythology, selfishness and sacrifice. Readers will be fascinated with the world of Ellegandia, and will want to know more—not only about the mythical island it becomes, but also about those who inhabited this magical place before it sank.

 
BAM Customer Reviews

DISCUSSION