Holiday Savings at BAM!
 
(0)
 
The Cat Who Came Back for Christmas : How a Cat Brought a Family the Gift of Love
by Julia Romp

Overview - The heart-warming true story of a little boy and the cat that changed his life.
Julia's nine-year-old son George was autistic. Quiet and withdrawn, he appeared lost in his own world. Then one day a small black-and-white stray cat appeared in her garden and George's face lit up.
  Read more...

 
Paperback
  • Retail Price: $15.00
  • $11.54
    (Save 23%)

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock. Usually ships within 24 hours.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
Not a member? Join Today!
 
 
New & Used Marketplace 114 copies from $2.99
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 

More About The Cat Who Came Back for Christmas by Julia Romp
 
 
 
Overview
The heart-warming true story of a little boy and the cat that changed his life.
Julia's nine-year-old son George was autistic. Quiet and withdrawn, he appeared lost in his own world. Then one day a small black-and-white stray cat appeared in her garden and George's face lit up.
George bonded with Ben and began to open up to his mother as well. For three happy years, the trio was inseparable and George made remarkable progress. But then disaster struck--Ben went missing and George regressed.
The weeks turned into months, and Christmas was fast approaching, but on December 21, Julia got a call from a family more than fifty miles away, which finally offered a ray of hope . . .
Genuinely touching, "The Cat Who Came Back for Christmas" is a story about devotion, love, and a holiday miracle, and is perfect for fans of Lil Bub, "I Am Pusheen the Cat," and "A Street Cat Named Bob."

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780452298781
  • ISBN-10: 0452298784
  • Publisher: Plume Books
  • Publish Date: September 2012
  • Page Count: 274
  • Reading Level: Ages 18-UP


Related Categories

Books > Psychology > Psychopathology - Autism
Books > Biography & Autobiography > Personal Memoirs

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2012-05-07
  • Reviewer: Staff

Rump’s 10-year-old autistic son, George, often felt more to her like a “visitor she could not make happy instead of own child”—that is, until the day a stray cat appeared in their garden. Ben the cat’s impact on the Rump family is the subject of this engaging memoir. Single mother Rump lives with George in a London council estate. When George is born, something is obviously wrong: he cries “day in, day out” and hates to be touched. He barely sleeps, doesn’t make eye contact, and, when he’s older, if a visitor arrived unexpectedly he “curl up into a ball and rock.” However, after they’ve taken their stray cat to the vet and Rump and George visit the cat, George kneels down beside the cage and talks to the cat, who looks George “square in the eyes.” To Rump’s amazement, George doesn’t look away, and instead engages with the cat. After that, as Rump says, “everything changed.” With a fresh, honest, and frequently funny voice, despite the considerable hardships depicted, Rump offers a moving story that comes from the heart. Agent: Laetitia Rutherford, Mulcahy Conway Associates. (Sept.)

 
BookPage Reviews

True tales of Christmas joy

These three books about Christmas have little in common, which should come as no surprise. We each observe the season in different ways. There is one common thread between these books, though, and it’s not jolly old Saint Nick: Each features an absolutely hair-raising drive through a holiday blizzard. Read, enjoy—and don’t forget your snow chains.

Julia Romp’s The Cat Who Came Back for Christmas gives away the story’s end in the title, but once you’ve met single mother Julia and her son George you’ll still cheer. For years, neighbors and teachers complained about George’s disengaged and combative behavior, but nobody knew what was wrong or how to fix it. One day mother and son took a stray cat to the vet. When they came to check on the animal, George began to open up to it, speaking in a high voice, making eye contact and almost instantly warming up. They adopted “Ben,” and he became a lifeline for George, who by now had been diagnosed with autism. When Ben runs away, George regresses, turning his rage on his mother. But Julia applies the same persistence to finding Ben that she had to caring for George, and things end well. Romp tells a hard story, and it’s easy to sympathize when she asks for help repeatedly and is instead viewed as a potential child abuser. Her love for her family—son and cat both—shines through, and if you’ve put off microchipping your pet, this story will encourage you to make that appointment.

BEHIND THE BEARD

Sal Lizard was just a working stiff with a bushy white beard when someone asked him to play Santa as a one-time gig. Being Santa Claus details Lizard’s journey into work as a full-time Santa, working in malls, making home and hospital visits, and loving the job. As one might expect, bringing cheer to terminally ill children is heart-wrenching work, and the hospitals he worked at had designated areas where employees could cry without the patients seeing. The hard times were offset by a job that let him bring joy to old and young alike, and Lizard seems made for the task. He’s playful with older kids who doubt Santa is real, and willing to get on the floor and play with younger kids who are scared by him (to the consternation of mall staff). Lizard tells his story with the help of Jonathan Lane, who interviewed him extensively and collected his best stories here. It works well; reading the book feels like being entertained, possibly over milk and cookies, by a relative overflowing with heartwarming anecdotes.

THE SPIRIT OF THE SEASON

Joseph Bottum’s The Christmas Plains is considered a memoir, but it’s as much about Christmas, language and landscape as it is his personal history. Moving his family to the Black Hills of South Dakota, where he lived as a boy, to reclaim a sense of fixed geography for his daughter, Bottum muses about his childhood holidays and considers the works of Charles Dickens, G.K. Chesterton and Dylan Thomas, and the ways in which they have influenced our experiences and recollections of Christmas. Bottum has a fresh take on the perennial complaint that Christmas is too commercial, pointing out that the inflatable snowmen and profusions of tinsel come from a knowledge that “a real thing comes toward us in December, and they layer it over with whatever fake or genuine finery they can find—not to hide it but to honor it.” His spare descriptions of the desolate Western plains alongside the hustle and bustle of New York City at Christmas are lovely, and his gentle insistence on the spiritual amid the commercial is a welcome tonic.

 
BAM Customer Reviews

DISCUSSION