(0)
 
The Sweet Revenge of Celia Door
by Karen Finneyfrock

Overview - "That's the day the trouble started.
The trouble that nearly ruined my life.
The trouble that turned me Dark.
The trouble that begs me for revenge.
"
Celia Door enters her freshman year of high school with giant boots, dark eyeliner, and a thirst for revenge against Sandy Firestone, the girl who did something unspeakable to Celia last year.
  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • Retail Price: $16.99
  • $13.08

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock.

FREE Express Shipping for Club Members
Not a member? Join Today!
 
 
New & Used Marketplace 52 copies from $2.99
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About The Sweet Revenge of Celia Door by Karen Finneyfrock
 
 
 
Overview
"That's the day the trouble started.
The trouble that nearly ruined my life.
The trouble that turned me Dark.
The trouble that begs me for revenge.
"
Celia Door enters her freshman year of high school with giant boots, dark eyeliner, and a thirst for revenge against Sandy Firestone, the girl who did something unspeakable to Celia last year.
But then Celia meets Drake, the cool new kid from New York City who entrusts her with his deepest, darkest secret. When Celia's quest for justice threatens her relationship with Drake, she's forced to decide which is sweeter: revenge or friendship.
This debut novel from Karen Finneyfrock establishes her as a bright, bold, razor-sharp new voice for teens, perfect for fans of "The Perks of Being a Wallflower" and "Will Grayson, Will Grayson."

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780670012756
  • ISBN-10: 0670012750
  • Publisher: Viking Children's Books
  • Publish Date: February 2013
  • Page Count: 259
  • Reading Level: Ages 12-UP


Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Social Issues - Homosexuality
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Social Issues - Friendship
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Social Issues - Emotions & Feelings

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2013-01-07
  • Reviewer: Staff

Ninth-grader Celia Door lives in Hershey, Pa., home to chocolate and a sea of vanilla classmates. With a black wardrobe to match her outlook, Celia considers herself “Dark,” a permanent outsider who has accepted that she’ll never be one of the cool kids. The arrival of Drake, a new student from New York City, is a bright spot in Celia’s Dark life. She starts to fall for him, but it turns out that Drake is gay; far from a problem, it sets up a wonderful scenario for friendship, as Celia helps Drake woo his crush back home, and Drake helps Celia prioritize her dreams of becoming a poet rather than revenge over mean girl Sandy Firestone. In her YA debut, Finneyfrock gives Celia a drily funny voice that keeps the narrative zipping along. Although the serious secret Celia has been keeping comes a bit out of nowhere, readers who also feel like they have no place in the mainstream will easily identify with her, even when she makes a few seriously Dark mistakes. Ages 12–up. Agent: Daniel Lazar, Writers House. (Feb.)

 
BookPage Reviews

Back with a vengeance

At just 14 years old, Celia Door has turned Dark. Not goth or emo, but withdrawn into herself, clad in black and focused solely on getting back at the kids who pushed her over the edge. Befriending a cool new guy at school helps to broaden her horizons, but when he gets entangled in her scheme, it looks like she might lose everything. Will The Sweet Revenge of Celia Door be worth it?

Author Karen Finneyfrock works magic on the page here. We get glimpses of the real Celia, an earnest, slightly nerdy poet, and we can see she’s not cut out for vengeance or darkness. Flashbacks to her mistreatment by classmates are unsparing, though, and it’s easy to understand why she wants so badly to even the score. Celia’s parents are divorcing and think her acting out is a response to them, which leaves her even more alone.

New BFF Drake is a delight, just finding his way in the world and looking for order amid the chaos. His reliance on a kooky self-help book to aid in his coming-out process is both hilarious and poignant. When Celia sticks up for Drake and he drops to one knee and proposes friendship, she thinks: “I didn’t say anything at first because I wanted to see how long those words could hang in the air. Best friend. Best friend. Best friend.

Readers will like Celia and pull for her to learn that being true to herself is the sweetest revenge of all.

 
BAM Customer Reviews

DISCUSSION