(2)
 
A Primate's Memoir : A Neuroscientist's Unconventional Life Among the Baboons
by Robert M. Sapolsky

Overview - In the tradition of Jane Goodall and Dian Fossey, Robert Sapolsky, a foremost science writer and recipient of a MacArthur Genius Grant, tells the mesmerizing story of his twenty-one years in remote Kenya with a troop of Savannah baboons.
"I had never planned to become a savanna baboon when I grew up; instead, I had always assumed I would become a mountain gorilla," writes Robert Sapolsky in this witty and riveting chronicle of a scientist's coming-of-age in remote Africa.
  Read more...

 
Paperback
  • Retail Price: $16.00
  • $10.88
    (Save 32%)

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
Not a member? Join Today!
 
 
New & Used Marketplace 53 copies from $4.18
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About A Primate's Memoir by Robert M. Sapolsky
 
 
 
Overview
In the tradition of Jane Goodall and Dian Fossey, Robert Sapolsky, a foremost science writer and recipient of a MacArthur Genius Grant, tells the mesmerizing story of his twenty-one years in remote Kenya with a troop of Savannah baboons.
"I had never planned to become a savanna baboon when I grew up; instead, I had always assumed I would become a mountain gorilla," writes Robert Sapolsky in this witty and riveting chronicle of a scientist's coming-of-age in remote Africa.
An exhilarating account of Sapolsky's twenty-one-year study of a troop of rambunctious baboons in Kenya, "A Primate's Memoir" interweaves serious scientific observations with wry commentary about the challenges and pleasures of living in the wilds of the Serengeti--for man and beast alike. Over two decades, Sapolsky survives culinary atrocities, gunpoint encounters, and a surreal kidnapping, while witnessing the encroachment of the tourist mentality on the farthest vestiges of unspoiled Africa. As he conducts unprecedented physiological research on wild primates, he becomes evermore enamored of his subjects--unique and compelling characters in their own right--and he returns to them summer after summer, until tragedy finally prevents him.
By turns hilarious and poignant, "A Primate's Memoir" is a magnum opus from one of our foremost science writers.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780743202411
  • ISBN-10: 0743202414
  • Publisher: Scribner Book Company
  • Publish Date: March 2002
  • Page Count: 304


Related Categories

Books > Biography & Autobiography > Scientists - General
Books > Nature > Animals - Primates
Books > Travel > Africa - General

 
BAM Customer Reviews

DISCUSSION