Holiday Savings at BAM!
 
(0)
 
Flo & Wendell (Sometimes)
by William Wegman

Overview - Acclaimed artist William Wegman combines his iconic photography with his background in painting to introduce two irresistible new characters based on his real-life puppies.
Meet Flo. She's a sophisticated big sister who's part of a very artistic family.
  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • Retail Price: $16.99
  • $12.67
    (Save 25%)

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock. Usually ships within 24 hours.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
Not a member? Join Today!
 
 
New & Used Marketplace 27 copies from $2.99
 
 
 

More About Flo & Wendell (Sometimes) by William Wegman
 
 
 
Overview
Acclaimed artist William Wegman combines his iconic photography with his background in painting to introduce two irresistible new characters based on his real-life puppies.
Meet Flo. She's a sophisticated big sister who's part of a very artistic family. She likes playing with paint and wearing sweaters her mother knits. Flo also likes teasing her little brother, Wendell. They play hide-and-seek, but Flo doesn't look very hard. They play dress up, too, but Wendell always gets the bad costumes. Their parents wish they would get along, and they do try...sometimes.
For every child who has experienced sibling rivalry, here's a humorous look at what it takes to play nice. Perfect for fans of Maira Kalman, Ian Falconer, and dog lovers of all ages.


 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780803739284
  • ISBN-10: 0803739281
  • Publisher: Dial Books
  • Publish Date: September 2013
  • Page Count: 32
  • Reading Level: Ages 3-6


Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Family - Siblings
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Humorous Stories
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Animals - Dogs

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2013-06-24
  • Reviewer: Staff

Wegman continues his string of Weimeraner stories, but he tweaks his approach. Instead of dressing big sister Flo and younger brother Wendell in actual clothing, he paints lumpy, toddlerlike bodies below photos of their stately dog heads with strokes of gouache. Flo and Wendell appear in scenes of hilarious domestic ordinariness, clad in baggy pullovers or baroque creations from the dress-up box. The tongue-in-cheek text is just as gratifying. Flo at a schoolroom desk: “Flo is very sophisticated. She can read and write. She can even tie her shoes.” Flo glowering out of a baby carriage, her parents standing protectively over her: “When she was little she couldn’t. She didn’t have shoes.” The story might be regarded as a gentle parody of brash and sequined little girl stories. In any event, the contrast between the dogs’ deadpan stares and their lives of suburban industriousness—“Some of Wendell’s recipes are better than others,” Wegman writes as Wendell stands howling at a kitchen table covered with containers of tuna, ketchup, and chocolate syrup—will raise grins from even the crabbiest readers. Ages 3–5. (Sept.)

 
BookPage Reviews

Weimaraner sibling squabbles

William Wegman’s first new book in 10 years comes with an unexpected twist. Once again, Wegman features photographs of his Weimaraners—dogs with piercing blue eyes and personality-plus. But instead of the usual photos depicting the canines in elaborate costumes and settings, he adds paint to the pictures to create the hilarious scenes of Flo & Wendell. This merging of media is a visual treat, and the dogs’ deadpan, all-too-human expressions add to the fun.

The lighthearted and slightly satirical story introduces us to Flo and her little brother Wendell, who are part of a family where everyone is a creative type, but in very different ways. Dad paints large by-the-numbers canvases, while Mom is so crazy about knitting that she even knits a sweater for the family car.

Flo, with a pink bow perched atop her head, is never short on drama. She recruits her less-than-enthusiastic brother for all sorts of activities like dress-up and hide-and-seek. Wendell has interests of his own, including soccer and cooking (he even whips up a dish with tuna fish and chocolate syrup).

Speckled with a big sister’s teasing and a little brother’s ability to roll with the punches, Flo & Wendell reflects the sibling negotiations that many of us endured while growing up, but in a whimsical, furry new way.

RELATED: Read an interview with William Wegman about the creation of Flo & Wendell.

 
BAM Customer Reviews

DISCUSSION