Coupon
The Other Half of Me
by Morgan McCarthy


Overview - For fans of Atonement and Brideshead Revisited , a gorgeously written, darkly wise coming-of-age novel about the pull of the past and the destructive power of the stories we tell ourselves.

"What good can the past do the living?  Read more...


 
Paperback
  • $15.00
Sorry: This item is not currently available.

This item is Non-Returnable.
FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 20 copies from $2.99
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 

More About The Other Half of Me by Morgan McCarthy
 
 
 
Overview
For fans of Atonement and Brideshead Revisited, a gorgeously written, darkly wise coming-of-age novel about the pull of the past and the destructive power of the stories we tell ourselves.

"What good can the past do the living? What harm?" Growing up in their family's ancestral home in Wales, Jonathan Anthony and his little sister, Theo, are inseparable. Together they explore the wild acres of Evendon, inventing magical worlds and buttressing each other against the loneliness of life with their alcoholic mother, Alicia, and a shifting cast of gossiping cooks and maids. When a family tragedy brings their glamorous grandmother, Eve, home from America, Jonathan and Theo are initially elated by the attention she lavishes on them. But soon it becomes clear that there is more to the Anthony family history than either Eve or Alicia will acknowledge, trapping Jonathan and Theo in a web of dark secrets that have haunted Evendon for generations.

Written in luminous prose, with richly endearing characters and a profound appreciation for the rustic beauty of the Welsh countryside, The Other Half of Me is a darkly wise coming-of-age novel and a masterful portrait of a family and the burdens of the past.


This item is Non-Returnable.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781451668230
  • ISBN-10: 1451668236
  • Publisher: Free Press
  • Publish Date: September 2012
  • Page Count: 316
  • Dimensions: 8.44 x 5.55 x 1.25 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.63 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Coming of Age
Books > Fiction > Family Life

 
BAM Customer Reviews