Coupon
The Dirt Cure : Growing Healthy Kids with Food Straight from Soil
by M.D. Maya Shetreat-Klein and Rachel Holtzman


Overview - In the tradition of Michael Pollan, Mark Hyman, and Andrew Weil, pioneering integrative pediatric neurologist Maya Shetreat-Klein, MD, reveals the shocking contents of children s food, how it s seriously harming their bodies and brains, and what we can do about it.  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • $26.00
  • 20% off for Members: Get the Club Price
    $ 20.80

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
  • [-] Other Available Formats
    Our Price
    New & Used Marketplace
     
     
    The Dirt Cure (Paperback)
    Published: 2017-05-02
    Publisher: Atria Books
    $17.00
     
     
 
 

More About The Dirt Cure by M.D. Maya Shetreat-Klein; Rachel Holtzman
 
 
 
Overview
In the tradition of Michael Pollan, Mark Hyman, and Andrew Weil, pioneering integrative pediatric neurologist Maya Shetreat-Klein, MD, reveals the shocking contents of children s food, how it s seriously harming their bodies and brains, and what we can do about it. And she presents the first nutritional plan for getting and keeping children healthy a plan that any family can follow.
New alarming studies show the dramatic rise of chronic disease in children from allergies and ADHD to mental illnesses and obesity. A traditionally trained pediatric neurologist and a parent herself, Dr. Maya encountered the limits of conventional medicine when her son suffered a severe episode of asthma on his first birthday and began a backward slide in his development. Treatments failed to reverse his condition, so Dr. Maya embarked on a scientific investigation, discovering that food was at the root of her son s illness, affecting his digestive system, immune system, and brain. The solution was shockingly simple: Heal the food, heal the gut, heal the brain and heal the child.
Recent changes in growing and processing food harm kids gut microbiomes, immune systems, and brains, contributing to chronic disease. Dr. Maya s plan started with the soil, using fresh foods and nature to heal her son from the inside out and the outside in. Since then, she s successfully helped chronically ill patients from around the world. Revealing the profound connections between food, nature, and children s health, Dr. Maya explains how food is constantly changing kids bodies, brains, and even genes for better or for worse. She also shares success stories from her practice and tips as a working mother of three on stocking healing foods (from veggies to chocolate ), reading labels, and getting even picky eaters into the new menu. This paradigm-shifting book empowers you to transform your child s health through food and ensure the long-term wellbeing of your kids and the entire family."

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781476796970
  • ISBN-10: 1476796971
  • Publisher: Atria Books
  • Publish Date: January 2016
  • Page Count: 384


Related Categories

Books > Health & Fitness > Children's Health
Books > Health & Fitness > Diet & Nutrition - Nutrition
Books > Health & Fitness > Healing

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2015-11-16
  • Reviewer: Staff

Shetreat-Klein, an integrative pediatric neurologist, states in this well-argued health book that the modern fixation on cleanliness can be harmful, particularly for children. She shows how the use of antibiotics and medications, as well as exposure to toxins, has had the effect of limiting human exposure to bacteria that helps the immune system function. She repeatedly urges readers to repopulate the gut with good bacteria through dietary changes. Emphasizing the importance of how food is raised or grown, Shetreat-Klein shares tips on procuring and consuming fresher meat and produce. She also takes some of the guesswork out of evaluating misleading and confusing food slogans and labels. By encouraging parents and children to change their diets, Shetreat-Klein puts them on the right track to living healthier and more balanced lives. The text is full of scientific information presented in a fun and informative way, giving concrete evidence that good food can transform ones life. Agent: Janis Donnaud, Janis A. Donnaud and Associates. (Jan.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews