Coupon
Welcome to the Slipstream
by Natalka Burian


Overview - For fans of Laurie Halse Anderson's Speak and Judy Gregerson's Bad Girls Club , this is a deeply moving and exquisite novel about a girl traumatized by her mother's serious mental illness, and the steps she takes to save her from destruction.  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • $17.99

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 22 copies from $2.99
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 

More About Welcome to the Slipstream by Natalka Burian
 
 
 
Overview
For fans of Laurie Halse Anderson's Speak and Judy Gregerson's Bad Girls Club, this is a deeply moving and exquisite novel about a girl traumatized by her mother's serious mental illness, and the steps she takes to save her from destruction.

Bright lights, big trouble.

When Van arrives in Las Vegas at the upscale Silver Saddle casino with her mother--a brilliant businesswoman with fragile mental health--she learns that her mother assigned her a college student, Alex, to "babysit" her. Van is used to having to land on her feet--her mother and surrogate grandmother move from city to city all the time like corporate nomads, but she is not thrilled to have someone watching her now.

When Alex introduces Van, a talented musician, to an all-girl Sleater-Kinney-style band, she finally has a chance to let her guitar skills shine. But just as she's about to play her first gig, her mother is lured to Arizona by a con man promising a "vision quest," and Van must go on the road to find and save her mom from a self-help cult that could ultimately destroy her.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781507200759
  • ISBN-10: 1507200757
  • Publisher: Simon Pulse
  • Publish Date: June 2017
  • Page Count: 272
  • Reading Level: Ages 14-18
  • Dimensions: 8.5 x 5.7 x 0.9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1 pounds


Related Categories

Books > > Social Themes - Depression
Books > > Family - Parents

 
BAM Customer Reviews