Coupon
Learning to Breathe
by Janice Lynn Mather


Overview - A 2019 YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults Selection
Amelia Bloomer List 's 2019 Top Ten Recommended Feminist Books for Young Readers
A Governor General's Literary Award Finalist
A Junior Library Guild Selection

"A love letter to girls--bittersweet and full of hope." --Ibi Zoboi, author of National Book Award Finalist American Street
"This is a stellar debut." --Brandy Colbert, award-winning author of Little & Lion and Pointe
"A vibrant, essential story of healing, resilience, and finding one's family." --Stephanie Kuehn, author of William C.  Read more...


 
In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 30 copies from $7.40
 
 
 
 

More About Learning to Breathe by Janice Lynn Mather
 
 
 
Overview
A 2019 YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults Selection
Amelia Bloomer List's 2019 Top Ten Recommended Feminist Books for Young Readers
A Governor General's Literary Award Finalist
A Junior Library Guild Selection

"A love letter to girls--bittersweet and full of hope." --Ibi Zoboi, author of National Book Award Finalist American Street
"This is a stellar debut." --Brandy Colbert, award-winning author of Little & Lion and Pointe
"A vibrant, essential story of healing, resilience, and finding one's family." --Stephanie Kuehn, author of William C. Morris Award winning Charm & Strange
"A raw, beautiful, unforgettable must-read." --Tiffany D. Jackson, author of Allegedly
"Poetic." --Angela Johnson, award-winning author of Heaven

"A powerful, poignant story about refusing to let the past dictate who you are or who you will become." --Kirkus Reviews
"This is a well-written, thought-provoking book that tackles difficult topics...a stirring debut." --School Library Journal (starred review)

Sixteen-year-old Indy struggles to conceal her pregnancy while searching for a place to belong in this stunning debut novel that's perfect for fans of Amber Smith and Sara Zarr.

Indira Ferguson has done her best to live by her Grammy's rules--study hard in school, be respectful, and never let a boy take advantage of her. But it hasn't always been easy, especially living in her mother's shadow.

When Indy is sent to stay in Nassau, trouble follows her and she must hide an unwanted pregnancy from her aunt, who would rather throw Indy out onto the street than see the truth. Completely broke with only a hand-me-down pregnancy book as a resource, Indy desperately looks for a safe space to call home.

After stumbling upon a yoga retreat, she wonders if she's found that place. But Indy is about to discover that home is much bigger than just four walls and a roof--it's about the people she chooses to share it with.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781534406018
  • ISBN-10: 1534406018
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
  • Publish Date: June 2018
  • Page Count: 336
  • Reading Level: Ages 14-17
  • Dimensions: 8.3 x 5.5 x 1.2 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.95 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Young Adult Fiction > Coming of Age
Books > Young Adult Fiction > Social Themes - Pregnancy
Books > Young Adult Fiction > Social Themes - Sexual Abuse

 
BAM Customer Reviews