Coupon
The Unforgettable Guinevere St. Clair
by Amy Makechnie


Overview - A ten-year-old girl is determined to find her missing neighbor, but the answers lead her to places and people she never expected--and maybe even one she's been running away from--in this gorgeous debut novel that's perfect for fans of The Thing About Jellyfish .  Read more...

 
In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 30 copies from $4.97
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About The Unforgettable Guinevere St. Clair by Amy Makechnie
 
 
 
Overview
A ten-year-old girl is determined to find her missing neighbor, but the answers lead her to places and people she never expected--and maybe even one she's been running away from--in this gorgeous debut novel that's perfect for fans of The Thing About Jellyfish.

Guinevere St. Clair is going to be a lawyer. She was the fastest girl in New York City. She knows everything there is to know about the brain. And now that she's living in Crow, Iowa, she wants to ride into her first day of school on a cow named Willowdale Princess Deon Dawn.

But Gwyn isn't in Crow, Iowa, just for royal cows. Her family has moved there, where her parents grew up, in the hopes of jogging her mother Vienna's memory. Vienna has been suffering from memory loss since Gwyn was four. She can no longer remember anything past the age of thirteen, not even that she has two young daughters. Gwyn's father is obsessed with finding out everything he can to help his wife, but Gwyn's focused on problems that seem a little more within her reach. Like proving that the very strange Gaysie Cutter who lives next door is behind the disappearance of her only friend, Wilbur Truesdale.

Gwyn is sure she can crack the case, but when she does she finds that not all of her investigations lead her to the places she would have expected. In fact they might just lead her to learn about the mother she's been doing her best to forget.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781534414464
  • ISBN-10: 1534414460
  • Publisher: Atheneum Books for Young Readers
  • Publish Date: June 2018
  • Page Count: 336
  • Reading Level: Ages 8-12
  • Dimensions: 8.5 x 5.5 x 1.1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.9 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Family - Parents
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Mysteries, Espionage, & Detective Stories
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Social Themes - Friendship

 
BookPage Reviews

Learning when to let things go

From debut author Amy Makechnie comes a small-town romp as remarkable as its titular character.

Guinevere St. Clair has no ordinary life: Her mother can’t remember anything after the age of 13. But this unfortunate situation only seems to have increased Gwyn’s spunkiness. So when her father announces that the family will be moving back to their hometown of Crow, Iowa, in hopes of jogging her mother’s memory, Gwyn embraces the change. But soon she’s caught up in a mystery she didn’t anticipate and uncovering secrets from her mother’s past that she’s not quite sure how to deal with. Ready or not, Gwyn is about to learn that sometimes tending to feelings, both her own and those of the people around her, is more important than getting answers.

Makechnie’s rural Iowa setting is populated with unique and memorable characters, and she takes on serious topics with honesty and grace, always balancing the sadness with enough love and laughter to keep hope alive. And overall, that’s what this story is about: maintaining hope for a better future when it seems impossible. Even if the better future you get doesn’t look exactly like the one you had in mind.

 

This article was originally published in the June 2018 issue of BookPage. Download the entire issue for the Kindle or Nook.

 
BAM Customer Reviews