Coupon
Every Last Cuckoo
by Kate Maloy


Overview - Sarah Lucas imagined the rest of her days would be spent living peacefully in her rural Vermont home in the steadfast company of her husband. But now, with Charles's sudden passing, seventy-five-year-old Sarah is left inconsolably alone.

As grief settles in, Sarah's mind lingers on her past: her imperfect but devoted fifty-year marriage to Charles; the years they spent raising their three very different children; and her childhood during the Great Depression, when her parents opened their home to countless relatives and neighbors.  Read more...


 
In Stock.

This item is Non-Returnable.
FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 42 copies from $2.99
 
 
 

More About Every Last Cuckoo by Kate Maloy
 
 
 
Overview
Sarah Lucas imagined the rest of her days would be spent living peacefully in her rural Vermont home in the steadfast company of her husband. But now, with Charles's sudden passing, seventy-five-year-old Sarah is left inconsolably alone.

As grief settles in, Sarah's mind lingers on her past: her imperfect but devoted fifty-year marriage to Charles; the years they spent raising their three very different children; and her childhood during the Great Depression, when her parents opened their home to countless relatives and neighbors. So, when a variety of wayward souls come seeking shelter in Sarah's own big, empty home, her past comes full circle. As this unruly flock forms a family of sorts, they--with Sarah--nurture and protect one another, all the while discovering their unsuspected strengths and courage.

In the tradition of Jane Smiley and Sue Miller, Kate Maloy has crafted a wise and gratifying novel about a woman who gracefully accepts a surprising new role just when she though her best years were behind her.


This item is Non-Returnable.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781565126756
  • ISBN-10: 1565126750
  • Publisher: Algonquin Books
  • Publish Date: May 2009
  • Page Count: 283
  • Dimensions: 8.1 x 5.4 x 0.9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.65 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Literary

 
BAM Customer Reviews