(0)
 
The Boys in the Boat : Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics
by Daniel James Brown and Edward Herrmann

Overview - For readers of Laura Hillenbrand's "Seabiscuit" and "Unbroken," the dramatic story of the American rowing team that stunned the world at Hitler's 1936 Berlin Olympics
"
"Daniel James Brown's robust book tells the story of the University of Washington's 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans.
  Read more...

 
Audio Compact Disc - Unabridged
  • Retail Price: $49.95
  • $35.96
    (Save 28%)

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock. Usually ships within 24 hours.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
Not a member? Join Today!
 
 
New & Used Marketplace 17 copies from $26.84
 
 
 

More About The Boys in the Boat by Daniel James Brown; Edward Herrmann
 
 
 
Overview
For readers of Laura Hillenbrand's "Seabiscuit" and "Unbroken," the dramatic story of the American rowing team that stunned the world at Hitler's 1936 Berlin Olympics
"
"Daniel James Brown's robust book tells the story of the University of Washington's 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the boys defeated elite rivals first from eastern and British universities and finally the German crew rowing for Adolf Hitler in the Olympic games in Berlin, 1936.
The emotional heart of the story lies with one rower, Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not for glory, but to regain his shattered self-regard and to find a place he can call home. The crew is assembled by an enigmatic coach and mentored by a visionary, eccentric British boat builder, but it is their trust in each other that makes them a victorious team. They remind the country of what can be done when everyone quite literally pulls together--a perfect melding of commitment, determination, and optimism.
Drawing on the boys' own diaries and journals, their photos and memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream, "The Boys in the Boat "is an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times--the improbable, intimate story of nine working-class boys from the American west who, in the depths of the Great Depression, showed the world what true grit really meant. It will appeal to readers of Erik Larson, Timothy Egan, James Bradley, and David Halberstam's "The Amateurs."


 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781611761696
  • ISBN-10: 1611761697
  • Publisher: Penguin Audiobooks
  • Publish Date: June 2013
  • Page Count: 12


Related Categories

Books > Sports & Recreation > History
Books > Sports & Recreation > Olympics
Books > Sports & Recreation > Boating - General

 
BookPage Reviews

Power and glory

They didn’t come from privilege or prep school; the nine young men in the University of Washington scull who won gold in the 1936 Olympics, infuriating the Führer while the home crowd cheered, were the sons of farmers, loggers and longshoremen. And they came to epitomize American grit and grace. In The Boys in the Boat, who they were, how they became one of the greatest rowing teams ever, the challenges they faced and the victories they fought for become more than just an exciting sports story. Daniel James Brown’s strong, cinematic narrative puts it all in fascinating historical context: Seattle in the dark days of the Depression; Berlin, transformed by Joseph Goebbels and Leni Riefenstahl to conceal Nazi brutality. Joe Rantz, an oarsman with an especially difficult background, is the emotional magnet, but his valiant compatriots, coaches and mentors get their due and our admiration. If you can get through Edward Herrmann’s absorbing performance without shedding tears of joy, you’re a lot tougher than I am.

THE SHANGHAI SLEEPER
It’s reassuring when a thriller is told in the first person—you know the narrator will make it out alive. The unnamed narrator—whom I grew to care about—of Charles McCarry’s latest, The Shanghai Factor, is a veteran of the war in Afghanistan, from a “good” family and Ivy League schools, who speaks passable Mandarin. He’s in Shanghai as a sleeper for a shadowy U.S. intelligence agency, waiting for something to wake him up. When Mei, a beautiful young Chinese woman with unaccented Bostonian English, crashes into him on her bicycle, he’s sure it’s a setup, but that makes their intense sensual relationship over the next two years all the more exciting. After our guy in Shanghai worms his way into a large firm that may be a front for Guoanbu (China’s CIA), he’s called back to D.C. and told to act as a double agent, turning the probable Guoanbu operatives who are trying to turn him. It’s complicated and of the moment and, in McCarry’s masterful hands, becomes a fascinating study of spy tradecraft, where no one is as he or she seems and deception is the norm. No high-speed chases, no trendy technology; this is an intricately plotted tale of believable espionage that, read by Stephen Bowlby, becomes an intriguing audio.

TOP PICK IN AUDIO
Still Foolin’ ’Em: Where I’ve Been, Where I’m Going, and Where the Hell Are My Keys?, Billy Crystal’s new memoir, is everything you’d expect from this acclaimed actor, writer, producer, film director and world-class comedian. Though the book is a great read, this audio version, performed by Crystal himself, is even better. His timing is perfect; he laughs, ad-libs a little and even chokes up as he talks about how much his wife of 43 years means to him. Now, 65 and astounded that he could have turned from “a hip, cool baby boomer into a Diane Arbus photograph,” Crystal muses on life, love, fatherhood, the ins and outs of his fabulous career, his beloved Yankees and the slippery slide down the geriatric slope. Outrageously public about his privates (and everyone else’s), his stand-up schtick on senior sex alone is worth the price of admission. But be careful! Listening while driving, treading on a treadmill or stirring up a stir-fry could be hazardous to life and limb—this is unredacted, laugh-out-loud humor, Billy Crystal at his bravura best.

 
BAM Customer Reviews

DISCUSSION