American, Vol. 3: Solitary Man
by Johnny Cash

  • $24.98
Sorry: This item is not currently available.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary


More About American, Vol. 3: Solitary Man by Johnny Cash

Track Listing

1 I Won't Back Down
2 Solitary Man
3 That Lucky Old Sun (Just Rolls Around Heaven All Day)
4 One
5 Nobody
6 I See a Darkness
7 Mercy Seat, The
8 Would You Lay with Me (In a Field of Stone)
9 Field of Diamonds
10 Before My Time
11 Country Trash
12 Mary of the Wild Moor
13 I'm Leavin' Now
14 Wayfaring Stranger

Featured Artists: Tom Petty and Randy Scruggs and Sheryl Crow and Norman Blake and Merle Haggard and Marty Stewart and Will Oldham

Genre: Country
  • Genre: Country & Western
  • Release Date: March 2014
  • Label: American
  • Format: LP
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Audio Format: Stereo
Music Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Entertainment Weekly (12/29/00, p.140) - Ranked #8 in EW's Top 10 Albums of 2000 - "...These songs have rarely sounded so authentic, thanks to arrangements that are spare but never colorless and a voice that;s deep in more ways than one."

Q (1/01, p.91) - Included in Q's "50 Best Albums of 2000".

Q (12/00, pp.118-9) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...A regal comeback. It's a mostly acoustic affair...featuring unlikely resonant and dignified a covers album as you'll ever hear."

CMJ (1/08/01, p.46) - Included in CMJ's "Year's Best Triple A Albums" from 2000.

CMJ (10/16/00, p.26) - "...Pure goosebump material....[His] voice is commanding and cavernous in ever more tangible ways..."

No Depression (1-2/01, pp.82-4) - "...It's a powerful disc....the key to its impact is in the reimagination [of songs] to make them [his]..."

Mojo (Publisher) (p.64) - Ranked #17 in Mojo's "100 Modern Classics" -- "Makes rock songs sound like something as old as the hills."

Mojo (Publisher) (11/00, p.102) - "...The choice is igenious, their themes of survival, toughness, self-destructyion, sin, redemption and love adding up to an autobiography....his voice is sober, honest and defiant..."

NME (Magazine) (12/30/00, p.78) - Ranked #32 in NME's "Top 50 Albums Of The Year".

NME (Magazine) (10/21/00, p.43) - 9 out of 10 - "...What is remarkable about this is its punishing intensity....stripped down, vivid and pure, emotionally naked stuff from a 68-year-old man who just 12 months ago was very seriously ill..."

Customer Reviews