American Recordings
by Johnny Cash

In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary


More About American Recordings by Johnny Cash

Track Listing

1 Delia's Gone
2 Let the Train Blow the Whistle
3 Beast in Me, The
4 Drive On
5 Why Me Lord?
6 Thirteen
7 Oh, Bury Me Not (Introduction: A Cowboy's Prayer)
8 Bird on a Wire
9 Tennessee Stud - (live)
10 Down There by the Train
11 Redemption
12 Like a Soldier
13 Man Who Couldn't Cry, The - (live)

Genre: Country
  • Genre: Country & Western
  • Release Date: March 2002
  • Label: Universal Distribution
  • Format: CD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Audio Format: Stereo
  • Producer: Rick Rubin
Music Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Rolling Stone (5/13/99, p.60) - Included in Rolling Stone's "Essential Recordings of the 90's."

Rolling Stone (5/19/94, p.97) - 5 Stars - Classic - "...exactly the sort of album Cash needed to make...Cash alone with an acoustic guitar, confronting traditional folk songs...AMERICAN RECORDINGS is...fiercely true to the legend of Johnny Cash and entirely contemporary...."

Entertainment Weekly (9/26/03, p.34) - "...A bare-bones masterpiece that...captures the tortured, aspirant soul of a master."

Q (9/94, p.117) - 4 Stars - Excellent - "...There simply won't be a braver or more honest record all year..."

Uncut (5/04, p.108) - "[T]he sparse, parched mood is closer to his original Sun recordings..."

Musician (6/94, p.77) - "...a spellbinding and thought-provoking album that sounds literally uplifting word about walking the line from one who has walked it more often, and more steadily, than most...."

Village Voice (2/28/95) - Ranked #7 in the Village Voice's 1994 Pazz & Jop Critics Poll.

Mojo (Publisher) (p.67) - Ranked #2 in Mojo's "100 Modern Classics" -- "[A] raw, bitter album that - once again - made Cash an anti-hero superstar."

Mojo (Publisher) (1/95, p.51) - Included in Mojo's "25 Best Albums of 1994" - "...Johnny Cash sings Danzig? You'd better believe it."

NME (Magazine) (12/24/94, p.22) - Ranked #23 in NME's list of the `Top 50 Albums Of 1994.'

NME (Magazine) (10/8/94, p.46) - 9 - Excellent Plus - "...This is an album wreathed in shadows, a confessional and autobiographical work that is, in the end, uplifting and life affirming because the message is taught through adversity, ill luck and fighting for survival..."

NME (Magazine) (11/12/94) - Ranked as NME's Album Of The Month - "...these stark, acoustic songs add yet another layer of Cash myth..."

Customer Reviews