Coupon
The Accident Season
by Moira Fowley-doyle


Overview - For fans of We Were Liars , How I Live Now , and The Ocean at the End of the Lane comes a haunting, sexy debut of magical realism. And look for Moira Fowley-Doyle's new book Spellbook of the Lost and Found , coming August 8, 2017.  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • $17.99

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 40 copies from $2.99
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About The Accident Season by Moira Fowley-doyle
 
 
 
Overview
For fans of We Were Liars, How I Live Now, and The Ocean at the End of the Lane comes a haunting, sexy debut of magical realism. And look for Moira Fowley-Doyle's new book Spellbook of the Lost and Found, coming August 8, 2017.

Every October Cara and her family become inexplicably and unavoidably accident-prone. Some years it's bad, like the season when her father died, and some years it's just a lot of cuts and scrapes. This accident season--when Cara, her ex-stepbrother, Sam, and her best friend, Bea, are 17--is going to be a bad one. But not for the reasons they think.

Cara is about to learn that not all the scars left by the accident season are physical: There's a long-hidden family secret underneath the bumps and bruises. This is the year Cara will finally fall desperately in love, when she'll start discovering the painful truth about the adults in her life, and when she'll uncover the dark origins of the accident season--whether she's ready or not.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780525429487
  • ISBN-10: 0525429484
  • Publisher: Kathy Dawson Books
  • Publish Date: August 2015
  • Page Count: 304
  • Reading Level: Ages 14-17
  • Dimensions: 8.4 x 5.4 x 1.1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.95 pounds


Related Categories

Books > > Family - Blended Families
Books > > Romance - General
Books > > Horror

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2015-05-11
  • Reviewer: Staff

It’s the last week of the “accident season”—the superstitious way Cara’s family marks October—and the 17-year-old is trying to avoid disaster. That’s difficult when she is simultaneously unraveling a strange discovery that involves her family’s photos and trying to be a regular teenager, including grappling with confusing romantic feelings for Sam, her ex-stepbrother. Debut author Fowley-Doyle weaves an enchanting ghost story set in a small Irish river town, where magical elements collide with brutal realities. Elsie, the classmate who can be seen in Cara’s family pictures, is the harbinger of the unveiling of secrets, putting a commonsensical twist on what Cara’s mother has chalked up to the family’s terrible luck. Like a phantom guide, Elsie shows up in shop windows and old newspaper clippings, leaving a trail of clues that sends Cara and her siblings to a decrepit haunted house on the edge of town. The answers lead to a fairly predictable plot twist, but the endearing coming-of-age narrative about emotionally scarred young adults trying to find their tribe more than compensates. Ages 14–up. (Aug.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews