Coupon
Across the Universe
by Beth Revis


Overview - Book 1 in the New York Times bestselling trilogy, perfect for fans of Battlestar Gallactica and Passengers
WHAT DOES IT TAKE TO SURVIVE ABOARD A SPACESHIP FUELED BY LIES?
Amy is a cryogenically frozen passenger aboard the spaceship Godspeed .
  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • Retail Price: $17.99
  • $14.92
    (Save 17%)
Add to Cart
+ Add to Wishlist
In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 110 copies from $2.99
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Across the Universe by Beth Revis
 
 
 
Overview
Book 1 in the New York Times bestselling trilogy, perfect for fans of Battlestar Gallactica and Passengers
WHAT DOES IT TAKE TO SURVIVE ABOARD A SPACESHIP FUELED BY LIES?
Amy is a cryogenically frozen passenger aboard the spaceship Godspeed. She has left her boyfriend, friends--and planet--behind to join her parents as a member of Project Ark Ship. Amy and her parents believe they will wake on a new planet, Centauri-Earth, three hundred years in the future. But fifty years before Godspeed's scheduled landing, cryo chamber 42 is mysteriously unplugged, and Amy is violently woken from her frozen slumber.
Someone tried to murder her.
Now, Amy is caught inside an enclosed world where nothing makes sense. Godspeed's 2,312 passengers have forfeited all control to Eldest, a tyrannical and frightening leader. And Elder, Eldest's rebellious teenage heir, is both fascinated with Amy and eager to discover whether he has what it takes to lead.
Amy desperately wants to trust Elder. But should she put her faith in a boy who has never seen life outside the ship's cold metal walls? All Amy knows is that she and Elder must race to unlock Godspeed's hidden secrets before whoever woke her tries to kill again.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781595143976
  • ISBN-10: 1595143971
  • Publisher: Razorbill
  • Publish Date: January 2011
  • Page Count: 398
  • Reading Level: Ages 14-UP
  • Dimensions: 10.1 x 5.2 x 1.4 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.37 pounds

Series: Across the Universe #1

Related Categories

Books > Young Adult Fiction > Science Fiction - General

 
BookPage Reviews

Pushing the boundaries for teens

Amy was supposed to spend 300 years as a cryogenically frozen passenger on the spaceship Godspeed. She was supposed to sail through space, unaware of her arrested state, until finally being awoken on a new planet. She was supposed to see her parents again. But everything goes wrong when someone wakes her up 50 years before the scheduled landing—and nearly kills her in the process.

Amy finds herself trapped on Godspeed, desperate to see the sky and smell real air again. But it’s not long before she discovers that these are the least of her worries, as most of the passengers on Godspeed follow their leader, Eldest, without a single thought in their own heads. Fortunately, Amy is not alone in this Brave New World scenario. Eldest’s rebellious protégé, Elder, is supposed to be spending all his time learning to be the next leader of the ship, but his interest in Amy seems to highlight more and more of Eldest’s secrets. Now Amy and Elder must race an unknown murderer to save the rest of the cryo-passengers, while Eldest’s thick sheen of lies grows thinner and thinner.

Beth Revis’ debut novel, Across the Universe, pushes the boundaries for teens who feel trapped, whether literally or figuratively. The world Amy encounters lacks the civil values that every teenager should learn as they grow up in modern society, such as free thought, respect for all races and the power of every person’s voice. Even sex has lost all significant meaning, reverting instead to mere animalistic urges. On Godspeed, Revis’ characters and young readers alike must think for themselves or risk the silent, and deadly, consequences.

 
BAM Customer Reviews