(0)
 
An Affair to Dismember
by Elise Sax

Overview - Certain to appeal to fans of Janet Evanovich, Jennifer Crusie, and Katie MacAlister, Elise Sax's hilarious series debut introduces matchmaker-in-training Gladie Burger, who stumbles into a dangerous quagmire of murder and red-hot romance.
Three months has been Gladie Burger's limit when it comes to staying in one place.
  Read more...

 
Mass Market Paperback
  • Retail Price: $7.99
  • $7.19
    (Save 10%)

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock. Usually ships within 24 hours.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
Not a member? Join Today!
 
 
New & Used Marketplace 61 copies from $2.99
 
 
 

More About An Affair to Dismember by Elise Sax
 
 
 
Overview
Certain to appeal to fans of Janet Evanovich, Jennifer Crusie, and Katie MacAlister, Elise Sax's hilarious series debut introduces matchmaker-in-training Gladie Burger, who stumbles into a dangerous quagmire of murder and red-hot romance.
Three months has been Gladie Burger's limit when it comes to staying in one place. That's why Gladie is more than a little skeptical when her eccentric Grandma Zelda recruits her to the family's matchmaking business in the quaint small town of Cannes, California. What's more, Gladie is also highly unqualified, having a terrible track record with romance. Still, Zelda is convinced that her granddaughter has "the gift." But when the going gets tough, Gladie wonders if this gift has a return policy.
When Zelda's neighbor drops dead in his kitchen, Gladie is swept into his bizarre family's drama. Despite warnings from the (distractingly gorgeous) chief of police to steer clear of his investigation, Gladie is out to prove that her neighbor's death was murder. It's not too long before she's in way over her head--with the hunky police chief, a dysfunctional family full of possible killers, and yet another mysterious and handsome man, whose attentions she's unable to ignore. Gladie is clearly being pursued--either by true love or by a murderer. Who will catch her first?
Praise for "An Affair to Dismember"
"Elise Sax's new Matchmaker series is off to a rousing start . . . Sax gives the comic mystery genre a new spin. . . . A fun read sure to entertain."--"RT Book Reviews"
"Fans of laugh-out-loud romantic suspense will enjoy this new author as she joins the ranks of Janet Evanovich, Katie MacAllister, and Jennifer Crusie."--"Booklist"
"Elise Sax will win your heart."--"New York Times "bestselling author Jill Shalvis
"In the tradition of Janet Evanovich's Stephanie Plum series, Elise Sax's new novel is a funny, sexy ride."--Valerie Frankel, author of "Four of a Kind"
"What a fun book It will leave readers begging for more."--Kim Gruenenfelder, author of "There's Cake in My Future"

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780345532220
  • ISBN-10: 0345532228
  • Publisher: Ballantine Books
  • Publish Date: January 2013
  • Page Count: 312

Series: Matchmaker

Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Humorous
Books > Fiction > Mystery & Detective - Women Sleuths
Books > Fiction > Romance - Contemporary

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2012-10-08
  • Reviewer: Staff

Sax’s series debut mashes mystery with romantic comedy but is more incomprehensible than funny. Itinerant job-hopper Gladie Burger has come to her grandmother’s small Southern California town to reluctantly take over the family matchmaking business. When a neighbor across the street is found dead, the death is ruled an accident by the police, but the deceased’s family members implausibly insist that inexperienced matchmaker Gladie discover the real cause of death. As Gladie incompetently investigates, unconvincing candidates for romantic hero wander past: womanizing police chief Spencer Bolton, who creepily invades Gladie’s bed uninvited while she is asleep, and mysterious neighbor and suspected murderer Arthur Holden. Even readers who can put up with sexism disguised as comedic characterization (“ ‘Correction, Legs,’ he said, eyeing my lower half, on display in my dress. ‘I can call you whatever I want’ ”) will find little appeal in the senseless plot. Agent: Alex Glass, Trident Media Group. (Feb.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews

DISCUSSION