Coupon
The Afterlife Academy
by Frank L. Cole


Overview - Fans of Adam Gidwitz and Neil Gaiman will love this middle-grade adventure about two boys, a mysterious, old book with some dark secrets, and a horde of angry demons. Nothing could go wrong, right?

When Walter Prairie is struck dead by a bolt of lightning, he's fast-tracked through the Afterlife Academy and assigned as a Guardian Agent to protect a High-Level Target.  Read more...


 
In Stock

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 17 copies from $4.99
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About The Afterlife Academy by Frank L. Cole
 
 
 
Overview
Fans of Adam Gidwitz and Neil Gaiman will love this middle-grade adventure about two boys, a mysterious, old book with some dark secrets, and a horde of angry demons. Nothing could go wrong, right?

When Walter Prairie is struck dead by a bolt of lightning, he's fast-tracked through the Afterlife Academy and assigned as a Guardian Agent to protect a High-Level Target.
Walter's HLT, Charlie Dewdle, isn't the most popular kid in school. He's a bit paranormally obsessed. And he has just found an old book that could be used to open the Gateway for demons to wreak havoc on earth.
Now, it's up to Charlie and Walter to fight an eclectic horde of enemies and protect humankind at all costs. But saving the world isn't so easy. Especially when your protector doesn't know the first thing about the underworld, bullies like Mo Horvath are trying to hunt you down, pretty and popular Melissa Bittner is suddenly talking to you, and your parents think you're going crazy.

A Whitney Award Nominee

"An appealing ghost story without being creepy, this title would be a great read for any reader looking for a mix of adventure and humor."--School Library Journal

"A fun, suspenseful read. . . . Cole's fast-paced fantasy can be enjoyed by the entire family."--Deseret News

"The adventure of a lifetime--or after-lifetime."--OBERT SKYE, author of the Leven Thumps series

"A fast-paced and fun adventure that puts a new twist on the afterlife "--PLATTE F. CLARK, author of Bad Unicorn

"Tons of fun and adventure with every turn of the page. . . . This is the perfect middle-grade book, and I loved it "--LDSWBR

A Whitney Award Nominee

"An appealing ghost story without being creepy, this title would be a great read for any reader looking for a mix of adventure and humor."--School Library Journal

"A fun, suspenseful read. . . . Cole's fast-paced fantasy can be enjoyed by the entire family."--Deseret News

"The adventure of a lifetime--or after-lifetime."--OBERT SKYE, author of the Leven Thumps series

"A fast-paced and fun adventure that puts a new twist on the afterlife "--PLATTE F. CLARK, author of Bad Unicorn

"Tons of fun and adventure with every turn of the page. . . . This is the perfect middle-grade book, and I loved it "--LDSWBR

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780385391481
  • ISBN-10: 038539148X
  • Publisher: Yearling Books
  • Publish Date: September 2016
  • Page Count: 288
  • Reading Level: Ages 9-12
  • Dimensions: 7.6 x 5.2 x 0.7 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.35 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Paranormal, Occult & Supernatural
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Action & Adventure - General
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Social Themes - Friendship

 
BAM Customer Reviews