Coupon
American Ace
by Marilyn Nelson


Overview - This riveting novel in verse, perfect for fans of Jacqueline Woodson and Toni Morrison, explores American history and race through the eyes of a teenage boy embracing his newfound identity

Connor's grandmother leaves his dad a letter when she dies, and the letter's confession shakes their tight-knit Italian-American family: The man who raised Dad is not his birth father.
  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • $17.99

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 28 copies from $2.99
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About American Ace by Marilyn Nelson
 
 
 
Overview
This riveting novel in verse, perfect for fans of Jacqueline Woodson and Toni Morrison, explores American history and race through the eyes of a teenage boy embracing his newfound identity

Connor's grandmother leaves his dad a letter when she dies, and the letter's confession shakes their tight-knit Italian-American family: The man who raised Dad is not his birth father.

But the only clues to this birth father's identity are a class ring and a pair of pilot's wings. And so Connor takes it upon himself to investigate--a pursuit that becomes even more pressing when Dad is hospitalized after a stroke. What Connor discovers will lead him and his father to a new, richer understanding of race, identity, and each other.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780803733053
  • ISBN-10: 0803733054
  • Publisher: Dial Books
  • Publish Date: January 2016
  • Page Count: 128
  • Reading Level: Ages 12-UP
  • Dimensions: 8.6 x 6.1 x 0.6 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.4 pounds


Related Categories

Books > > People & Places - United States - African American
Books > > Family - Parents
Books > > Novels in Verse

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2015-10-26
  • Reviewer: Staff

Sixteen-year-old Connor Bianchinis father inherited a letter from his deceased Italian-American mother revealing a startling truth: Connors grandfather was actually a WWII pilot named Ace. Connors investigation of his unknown relative leads to another revelationAce was African-American and probably one of the Tuskegee Airmen. As the family grapples with this news and Connors fathers recovery from a stroke, Connor writes his history honors thesis on the Airmen to better understand his heritage. In an authors note, Nelson (How I Discovered Poetry) emphasizes her desire to write about the Airmen from the perspective of someone new to their story. However, the single-page poems only provide glimpses into Connors personality, suggesting a certain detachment from her narrator. Nelson uses Connors thesis to convey swathes of historical information (and photographs) in a condensed and somewhat forced way. Even so, Nelsons powerful command of language is inarguable: I feel like theres a blackness beyond skin, Connor reflects. A blackness that has more to do with how/ you see than how youre seen. That craves justice/ equally for oneself and for others. Ages 12up. Agent: Regina Brooks, Serendipity Literary Agency. (Jan.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews