Coupon
American Tapestry : The Story of the Black, White, and Multiracial Ancestors of Michelle Obama
by Rachel L. Swarns


Overview -

A remarkable history of First Lady Michelle Obama's mixed ancestry, American Tapestry by Rachel L. Swarns is nothing less than a breathtaking and expansive portrait of America itself.

In this extraordinary feat of genealogical research--in the tradition of The Hemmingses of Monticello and Slaves in the Family --author Swarns, a respected Washington-based reporter for the New York Times , tells the fascinating and hitherto untold story of Ms.  Read more...


 
Paperback
  • $16.99

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 26 copies from $2.99
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 

More About American Tapestry by Rachel L. Swarns
 
 
 
Overview

A remarkable history of First Lady Michelle Obama's mixed ancestry, American Tapestry by Rachel L. Swarns is nothing less than a breathtaking and expansive portrait of America itself.

In this extraordinary feat of genealogical research--in the tradition of The Hemmingses of Monticello and Slaves in the Family--author Swarns, a respected Washington-based reporter for the New York Times, tells the fascinating and hitherto untold story of Ms. Obama's black, white, and multiracial ancestors; a history that the First Lady herself did not know.

At once epic, provocative, and inspiring, American Tapestry is more than a true family saga; it is an illuminating mirror in which we may all see ourselves.


 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780061999871
  • ISBN-10: 0061999873
  • Publisher: Amistad Press
  • Publish Date: April 2013
  • Page Count: 391
  • Dimensions: 7.8 x 5.2 x 1.1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.7 pounds

Series: P.S.

Related Categories

Books > Social Science > Ethnic Studies - African American Studies - General
Books > Social Science > Minority Studies - General
Books > History > United States - General

 
BAM Customer Reviews