Americanized : Rebel Without a Green Card
by Sara Saedi


Overview - The hilarious, poignant, and true story of one teens's experience growing up in America as an undocumented immigrant from the Middle East, perfect for fans of Mindy Kaling and Lena Dunham's books.

At thirteen, bright-eyed, straight-A student Sara Saedi uncovered a terrible family secret: she was breaking the law simply by living in the United States.  Read more...


 
Hardcover
  • Retail Price: $17.99
  • $15.11
    (Save 16%)
Add to Cart
+ Add to Wishlist
In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 25 copies from $9.96
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Americanized by Sara Saedi
 
 
 
Overview
The hilarious, poignant, and true story of one teens's experience growing up in America as an undocumented immigrant from the Middle East, perfect for fans of Mindy Kaling and Lena Dunham's books.

At thirteen, bright-eyed, straight-A student Sara Saedi uncovered a terrible family secret: she was breaking the law simply by living in the United States. Only two years old when her parents fled Iran, she didn't learn of her undocumented status until her older sister wanted to apply for an after-school job, but couldn't because she didn't have a Social Security number.
Fear of deportation kept Sara up at night, but it didn't keep her from being a teenager. She desperately wanted a green card, along with clear skin, her own car, and a boyfriend.
Americanized follows Sara's progress toward getting her green card, but that's only a portion of her experiences as an Iranian-"American" teenager. From discovering that her parents secretly divorced to facilitate her mother's green card application to learning how to tame her unibrow, Sara pivots gracefully from the terrifying prospect that she might be kicked out of the country at any time to the almost-as-terrifying possibility that she might be the only one of her friends without a date to the prom. This moving, often hilarious story is for anyone who has ever shared either fear.

"With gumption, Saedi draws from her American-ness and Iranian-ness for a successful depiction of immigrant life in the U.S.: a must-read."--Kirkus, starred review

" Saedi's] encouraging advice for undocumented immigrants is invaluable, honest, and heartfelt. This irresistible and timely memoir is hard to put down."--Booklist, starred review

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781524717797
  • ISBN-10: 1524717797
  • Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers
  • Publish Date: February 2018
  • Page Count: 288
  • Reading Level: Ages 14-UP
  • Dimensions: 8.3 x 5.4 x 1.2 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Young Adult Nonfiction > Social Topics - Emigration & Immigration
Books > Young Adult Nonfiction > People & Places - Middle East
Books > Young Adult Nonfiction > Humor

 
BAM Customer Reviews