Coupon
Angel on the Square
by Gloria Whelan


Overview -

From the author of the National Book Award-winning novel Homeless Bird comes "an absorbing saga"* about a young heroine coming of age in the tumultuous years leading up to the Russian revolution.

Gripping, accessible historical fiction that's perfect for schools and classrooms, as well as for fans of Ruta Sepetys and Elizabeth Wein.  Read more...


 
In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 44 copies from $2.99
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Angel on the Square by Gloria Whelan
 
 
 
Overview

From the author of the National Book Award-winning novel Homeless Bird comes "an absorbing saga"* about a young heroine coming of age in the tumultuous years leading up to the Russian revolution.

Gripping, accessible historical fiction that's perfect for schools and classrooms, as well as for fans of Ruta Sepetys and Elizabeth Wein.

In the fall of 1914, safe behind palace walls, Katya Ivanova sees St. Petersburg as a magical place.

The daughter of a lady in waiting to the Empress, Katya spends all her time with the Grand Duchesses, and the royal family feels like her own. But outside the palace, a terrible war is sweeping through Europe, and Russia is beginning to crumble under the weight of a growing revolution.

Now, as Katya's once-certain future begins to dissolve, she must seek to understand what is happening to her beloved country and, for the first time in her life, take charge of her own destiny.

With her trademark lyricism, spare prose, and strong young heroine, award-winning author Gloria Whelan has again taken a chapter from history and transformed it into compelling historical fiction.

*Kirkus


 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780064408790
  • ISBN-10: 0064408795
  • Publisher: HarperCollins
  • Publish Date: January 2003
  • Page Count: 293
  • Reading Level: Ages 8-12
  • Dimensions: 7.74 x 5.14 x 0.69 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.45 pounds

Series: Russian Saga #1

Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Historical - Europe
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Historical - Military & Wars
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Social Themes - General

 
BAM Customer Reviews