Coupon
Anna and the Swallow Man
by Gavriel Savit


Overview - - A] splendid debut novel. . . . This is masterly storytelling.- -- The New York Times

Set in Poland during the Second World War, Anna and the Swallow Man is a stunning, literary, and wholly original New York Times bestseller and Publishers Weekly best book of the year perfect for readers of The Book Thief and All the Light We Cannot See.
  Read more...

 
In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 14 copies from $3.05
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Anna and the Swallow Man by Gavriel Savit
 
 
 
Overview
- A] splendid debut novel. . . . This is masterly storytelling.- --The New York Times

Set in Poland during the Second World War, Anna and the Swallow Man is a stunning, literary, and wholly original New York Times bestseller and Publishers Weekly best book of the year perfect for readers of The Book Thief and All the Light We Cannot See.
Krakow, 1939. A million marching soldiers and a thousand barking dogs. This is no place to grow up. Anna Lania is just seven years old when the Germans take her father, a linguistics professor, during their purge of intellectuals in Poland. She's alone.
And then Anna meets the Swallow Man. He is a mystery, strange and tall, a skilled deceiver with more than a little magic up his sleeve. And when the soldiers in the streets look at him, they see what he wants them to see.
The Swallow Man is not Anna's father--she knows that very well--but she also knows that, like her father, he's in danger of being taken, and like her father, he has a gift for languages: Polish, Russian, German, Yiddish, even Bird. When he summons a bright, beautiful swallow down to his hand to stop her from crying, Anna is entranced. She follows him into the wilderness.
Over the course of their travels together, Anna and the Swallow Man will dodge bombs, tame soldiers, and even, despite their better judgment, make a friend. But in a world gone mad, everything can prove dangerous. Even the Swallow Man.
-Exquisite.- --The Wall Street Journal
-A graceful story steeped in history, magic, myth, and archetype.- --The Horn Book Magazine, Starred
-This deeply moving debut novel casts naivete against the cruel backdrop of inhumanity.- --Publishers Weekly, Starred
- A] quiet exploration of love and its limits.- --The Bulletin, Starred

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780553522082
  • ISBN-10: 0553522086
  • Publisher: Ember
  • Publish Date: March 2017
  • Page Count: 256
  • Reading Level: Ages 12-UP
  • Dimensions: 8.2 x 5.4 x 0.5 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.45 pounds


Related Categories

Books > > Historical - Holocaust
Books > > Family - Orphans & Foster Homes
Books > > People & Places - Europe

 
BAM Customer Reviews