Coupon
Appleblossom the Possum
by Holly Goldberg Sloan and Gary A. Rosen


Overview - Fans of E.B. White and Dick King-Smith will adore this heartwarming and funny animal adventure by the award-winning author of "Counting by 7s"" "
Mama has trained up her baby possums in the ways of their breed, and now it s time for all of them even little Appleblossom to make their way in the world.
  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • $16.99

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Appleblossom the Possum by Holly Goldberg Sloan; Gary A. Rosen
 
 
 
Overview
Fans of E.B. White and Dick King-Smith will adore this heartwarming and funny animal adventure by the award-winning author of "Counting by 7s"" "
Mama has trained up her baby possums in the ways of their breed, and now it s time for all of them even little Appleblossom to make their way in the world. Appleblossom knows the rules: she must never be seen during the day, and she must avoid cars, humans, and the dreaded hairies (sometimes known as dogs). Even so, Appleblossom decides to spy on a human family and accidentally falls down their chimney The curious Appleblossom, her faithful brothers who launch a hilarious rescue mission and even the little girl in the house have no idea how fascinatingthe big world can be. But they're about to find out
With dynamic illustrations, a tight-knit family, and a glimpse at the world from a charming little marsupial's point of view, this cozy animal story is a perfect read-aloud and a classic in the making."

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780803741331
  • ISBN-10: 0803741332
  • Publisher: Dial Books
  • Publish Date: August 2015
  • Page Count: 288
  • Reading Level: Ages 8-11


Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Action & Adventure - General
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Humorous Stories
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Animals - Nocturnal

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2015-05-11
  • Reviewer: Staff

Appleblossom, a small and brave possum, and her 12 siblings learn from their Mama Possum that the world is a stage and that acting is necessary for survival, especially against the various “monsters” (cars, people, pets) that threaten. Ever the explorer, Appleblossom gets stuck inside a small “monster’s” house, complete with a dog and disgusted parents; brothers Antonio and Amlet try to mount a rescue effort while Appleblossom takes on the role of plaything. Sloan (Counting by 7s) divides the story between Appleblossom’s shrewd thinking in the house and her brothers’ search for help in the form of a bedraggled possum named Big Poss, who turns out to be an extraordinary actor. Rosen’s pink-tinged images (not all seen by PW) bring a playfulness to many of the scenes. Amid the homey message that family matters most, Sloan seeds the story with assorted possum facts and vocabulary lessons, but it’s the possum-as-actor metaphor (“Playing dead is one thing. But smelling dead is another. It adds a whole other layer to a possum performance”) that generates the most fun. Ages 8–12. Author’s agent: Amy Berkower, Writers House. (Aug.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews