Coupon
Arabian Sands
by Wilfred Thesiger and Rory Stewart


Overview - "Following worthily in the tradition of Burton, Lawrence, Philby and Thomas, Arabian Sands ] is, very likely, the book about Arabia to end all books about Arabia." -- The Daily Telegraph

Arabian Sands is Wilfred Thesiger's record of his extraordinary journey through the parched "Empty Quarter" of Arabia.
  Read more...

 
Paperback
  • $17.00

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 35 copies from $7.17
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 

More About Arabian Sands by Wilfred Thesiger; Rory Stewart
 
 
 
Overview
"Following worthily in the tradition of Burton, Lawrence, Philby and Thomas, Arabian Sands] is, very likely, the book about Arabia to end all books about Arabia." --The Daily Telegraph

Arabian Sands is Wilfred Thesiger's record of his extraordinary journey through the parched "Empty Quarter" of Arabia. Educated at Eton and Oxford, Thesiger was repulsed by the softness and rigidity of Western life--"the machines, the calling cards, the meticulously aligned streets." In the spirit of T. E. Lawrence, he set out to explore the deserts of Arabia, traveling among peoples who had never seen a European and considered it their duty to kill Christian infidels. His now-classic account is invaluable to understanding the modern Middle East.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780141442075
  • ISBN-10: 0141442077
  • Publisher: Penguin Books
  • Publish Date: January 2008
  • Page Count: 347
  • Reading Level: Ages 18-UP
  • Dimensions: 7.7 x 5.3 x 0.9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.64 pounds

Series: Penguin Classics

Related Categories

Books > Travel > Middle East - General
Books > Travel > Essays & Travelogues

 
BAM Customer Reviews