Coupon
Athlete vs. Mathlete
by W. C. Mack


Overview -

Owen Evans lights up the scoreboards. His brother, Russell, rocks the school boards. These twin brothers couldn't be more different. They've long kept the peace by going their separate ways, but all that is about to change. The new basketball coach recruits Russell for the seventh grade team and a jealous Owen has to fight to stay in the game.  Read more...


 
Paperback
  • $7.99
  • 20% off for Members: Get the Club Price
    $ 6.39

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 46 copies from $2.99
 
eBook
Retail Price: $6.99
$5.39

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

Download

 
 
 
 

More About Athlete vs. Mathlete by W. C. Mack
 
 
 
Overview

Owen Evans lights up the scoreboards. His brother, Russell, rocks the school boards. These twin brothers couldn't be more different. They've long kept the peace by going their separate ways, but all that is about to change. The new basketball coach recruits Russell for the seventh grade team and a jealous Owen has to fight to stay in the game. When someone tries to steal Russell's spot as captain of the mathlete team, will the two be able to put aside their differences in order to save his position? Or will they be sidelined?

Perfect for fans of Matt Christopher and Andrew Clements alike, this is a lighthearted and hilarious look at what happens when brains meets brawn meets basketball.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781599908588
  • ISBN-10: 1599908581
  • Publisher: Bloomsbury U.S.A. Children's Books
  • Publish Date: February 2013
  • Page Count: 208
  • Reading Level: Ages 8-12
  • Dimensions: 8.2 x 5.4 x 0.6 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.45 pounds

Series: Athlete Vs Mathlete (Quality)

Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Family - Siblings
Books > Juvenile Fiction > School & Education

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2012-12-10
  • Reviewer: Staff

In this series opener, Mack (After All, You’re Callie Boone) introduces athletic seventh-grader Owen and his klutzy, academic-minded fraternal twin, Russell. The boys are content with their respective roles until the new school basketball coach, impressed by Russell’s height, invites him to try out for the team. No one is more shocked than Russell when he makes the cut, along with Owen, but his victory precipitates a flurry of conflicts for both boys. Although Russell shows an uncanny talent for making three-pointers, his dribbling skills are sorely lacking, and basketball practice interferes with his responsibilities as leader of his academic competition group. Meanwhile, Owen resents the attention Russell gets as he crosses into sports territory (“Even though I knew it wouldn’t be a big deal to anyone else, I hated that Russ suddenly had the cool shoes and the awesome jump shot”). Offering an honest and funny representation of sibling rivalry and peer pressure, this contemporary tale, told from the boys’ alternating points of view, ought to find a large fan base. Ages 8–12. Agent: Sally Harding, the Cooke Agency. (Feb.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews