Black Star
by Mos Def/Talib Kweli/Black Star

CD [Explicit Lyrics]
  • $10.98

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary


More About Black Star by Mos Def/Talib Kweli/Black Star

Track Listing

1 Intro
2 Astronomy (8th Light)
3 Definition
4 RE: DEFinition
5 Children's Story
6 Brown Skin Lady
7 B Boys Will B Boys
8 K. O. S. (Determination)
9 Hater Players
10 Yo Yeah
11 Respiration
12 Thieves in the Night
13 Twice Inna Lifetime

Featured Artists: Weldon Irvine and Common

Genre: R&B
  • Genre: Rap, Hip-Hop
  • Release Date: June 2002
  • Label: Rawkus Records
  • Rating: Parental Advisory (this format contains explicit lyrics).
  • Format: CD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Audio Format: Stereo
  • Engineer: Success; Pat Viola; Vaughn Sessions; Mr. Walt; Jim Godsey; Kieran Walsh; Charlie Mack
Music Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Rolling Stone (10/29/98, p.77) - 3 Stars (out of 5) - "...not only an eagerly awaited rap album but also a desperately needed one....Black Star are socially conscious and lyrically sound--with their hearts close to the underground."

Entertainment Weekly (10/23/98, p.80) - "...Mixing rugged street beats and rhymes brainy enough for boho B-boys (they cite literary references and quote Nina Simone) makes this Black Star shine bright." - Rating: A-

The Wire (1/99, p.27) - Included in Wire's "50 Records Of The Year [1998]"

CMJ (1/11/99, pp.5-6) - "...Mos Def and Talib Kweli truly are 'the best alliance in hip-hop,' with Mos's stylized, grainy delivery serving as yang to the smart, spoken words of Kweli's yin..."

The Source (11/98, p.198) - 3.5 Mics (out of 5) - "...With a delicate balance of Black Nationalism, well-chosen interludes and lyrics to go, high-pitched metaphor specialist Kweli and straight-up showman Mos prove that they're more than just 'lyrically handsome'..."

Customer Reviews