Blue Train
by John Coltrane

In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary


More About Blue Train by John Coltrane

Track Listing

1 Blue Train
2 Moment's Notice
3 Locomotion
4 I'm Old Fashioned
5 Lazy Bird
6 Blue Train - (alternate take, bonus track)
7 Lazy Bird - (alternate take, bonus track)

Featured Artists: Lee Morgan and Pepper Adams and Curtis Fuller and Gene Ammons and Kenny Burrell and Kenny Drew and Donald Byrd and Philly Joe Jones and Red Garland and Mal Waldron and Art Taylor and Paul Chambers

Genre: Jazz Instrument
  • Genre: Jazz Music
  • Release Date: August 2003
  • Label: Blue Note (Label)
  • Format: CD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Audio Format: Stereo
  • Producer: Alfred Lion; Michael Cuscuna (Reissue)
  • Engineer: Rudy VanGelder
Music Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Q (11/03, p.130) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...Coltrane's first significant release as a group leader still impresses with its uninhibited energy nearly 46 years on..."

JazzTimes (9/97, p.87) - "THE ULTIMATE BLUE TRAIN...lives up to its name.... The sound is better than on the album's previous incarnations. Previously unreleased takes of `Lazy Bird' and the title tune significantly flesh out the record of this historic session..."

Customer Reviews