Coupon
Be Not Afraid
by Cecilia Galante


Overview - Marin spends a lot of time avoiding things. She avoids thinking about her mother s suicide and what she could have done to prevent it. She avoids looking at people directly because she can see their pain as bright, colorful shapes. And she avoids Cassie Jackson, who used her in a sinister ritual months ago, although Marin s not exactly sure why.  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • $17.99
  • Members Save 10% Club Price
    $ 16.19

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 15 copies from $9.31
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 

More About Be Not Afraid by Cecilia Galante
 
 
 
Overview
Marin spends a lot of time avoiding things. She avoids thinking about her mother s suicide and what she could have done to prevent it. She avoids looking at people directly because she can see their pain as bright, colorful shapes. And she avoids Cassie Jackson, who used her in a sinister ritual months ago, although Marin s not exactly sure why.
When Cassie stands up at school, screaming, raking her nails down her cheeks, and pointing a finger at Marin, whispering" YOU, "Marin s days of avoidance come to an abrupt end. Cassie s older brother believes that Marin holds the secret to Cassie s illness. So they team up to solve the mystery of what Cassie has unleashed. But as they look deeper into the darkness, can Marin trust what she sees?
Cecilia Galante, author of "The Patron Saint of Butterflies, "presents a chilling story with horror-movie thrills and nail-biting suspense. Perfect for fans of "American Horror Story, Paranormal Activity, " and "The Exorcist, " and readers who love to feel goose bumps.
Praise for "Be Not Afraid"
"Galantecrafts a chilling atmosphere in this slowly simmering horror story."--"Publishers Weekly"
"Recommended for fans of the author and Katherine Howe's"Conversion"and Danielle Vega's"The Merciless."" --"SLJ"
"Well-executed and decorated with some top-notch horror elements; readers who don't love this sort of suspense will find refuge in the romantic subplot]. . . . A quick, freaky read." --"Kirkus Reviews""

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780385372749
  • ISBN-10: 0385372744
  • Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers
  • Publish Date: April 2015
  • Page Count: 352
  • Reading Level: Ages 12-17


Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Horror
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Paranormal, Occult & Supernatural
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Religious - Christian - General

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2015-02-23
  • Reviewer: Staff

Galante (The Sweetness of Salt) crafts a chilling atmosphere in this slowly simmering horror story. Seventeen-year-old Marin developed a peculiar condition after her mother’s suicide: the ability to see the physical manifestations of people’s pain in the form of colorful orbs. Overwhelmed by the “pain shapes” constantly in her line of vision, Marin wears dark sunglasses to her Catholic high school. She stays under the radar until one day when another student, Cassie, erupts into an enraged, seizurelike fit during Mass and directs her aggression squarely at Marin. As it becomes plain that Cassie’s affliction isn’t epilepsy but something more sinister, Cassie’s brother, Dominic, senses that Marin is somehow involved. Marin’s narrative is calculated in its revealing of information, and readers may begin to doubt her reliability. Like many works of horror, Galante’s story is at its best when at play in the shadows; the conclusion may strike some horror fans as a bit conventional. Yet the author thoughtfully addresses questions of good, evil, spirituality, and suffering, while the story’s paranormal elements offer moments of legitimate terror. Ages 12–up. (Apr.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews