Coupon
Beast
by Brie Spangler


Overview - A witty, wise, and heart-wrenching reimagining of Beauty and the Beast that will appeal to fans of Rainbow Rowell and David Levithan.
Tall, meaty, muscle-bound, and hairier than most throw rugs, Dylan doesn t look like your average fifteen-year-old, so, naturally, high school has not been kind to him.
  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • $17.99
  • Members Save 10% Club Price
    $ 16.19

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
  • [-] Other Available Formats
    Our Price
    New & Used Marketplace
     
     
    Beast (Library Binding)
    Published: 2016-10-11
    Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers
    $20.99
     
     
 
 

More About Beast by Brie Spangler
 
 
 
Overview
A witty, wise, and heart-wrenching reimagining of Beauty and the Beast that will appeal to fans of Rainbow Rowell and David Levithan.
Tall, meaty, muscle-bound, and hairier than most throw rugs, Dylan doesn t look like your average fifteen-year-old, so, naturally, high school has not been kind to him. To make matters worse, on the day his school bans hats (his preferred camouflage), Dylan goes up on his roof only to fall and wake up in the hospital with a broken leg and a mandate to attend group therapy for self-harmers.
Dylan vows to say nothing and zones out at therapy until he meets Jamie. She s funny, smart, and so stunning, even his womanizing best friend, JP, would be jealous. She s also the first person to ever call Dylan out on his self-pitying and superficiality. As Jamie s humanity and wisdom begin to rub off on Dylan, they become more than just friends. But there is something Dylan doesn t know about Jamie, something she shared with the group the day he wasn t listening. Something that shouldn t change a thing. She is who she s always been an amazing photographer and devoted friend, who also happens to be transgender. But will Dylan see it that way?

"Writing smartly in Dylan's voice, Spangler artfully represents both main characters: the boy who feels like a freak and the witty, imperfect, wise trans girl he loves. Very lightly borrowing on the classic fairy tale, she allows them to fail and succeed without resorting to paper villains or violent plot points to manipulate compassion. A believable and beautiful human story."--Kirkus, starred review
"Spangler s captivating portrayals of Dylan and Jamie offer piercing insight into the long, painful battle to shatter stereotypes in order to win dignity, love, and acceptance."--Publishers Weekly, Starred review"

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781101937167
  • ISBN-10: 1101937165
  • Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers
  • Publish Date: October 2016
  • Page Count: 336
  • Reading Level: Ages 12-UP


Related Categories

Books > > LGBT
Books > > Social Themes - Dating & Sex
Books > > Humorous - General

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2016-08-15
  • Reviewer: Staff

Picture book creator Spangler (Peg Leg Peke) turns to an older audience with a thought-provoking novel about two shunned teens who struggle to make sense of the world and themselves. At nearly six foot four and covered with hair, 15-year-old Dylan Ingvarsson has been nicknamed the Beast, but he doesn’t feel like one. Mostly, he leads a quiet life, earning top grades in his class and supporting his widowed mother. When Dylan breaks his leg falling off a roof, perhaps not entirely accidentally, and ends up in therapy for self-harmers, he meets an intriguing girl named Jamie, a talented photographer, who seems to like Dylan for who he is. For the first time, Dylan finds himself falling in love, but then he learns something he missed while he was zoning out in therapy: Jamie is trans. Sharply drawn relationships and true-to-life dialogue make Dylan’s interactions with Jamie, his mother, and his friends feel breathtakingly real. Spangler’s captivating portrayals of Dylan and Jamie offer piercing insight into the long, painful battle to shatter stereotypes in order to win dignity, love, and acceptance. Ages 12–up. Agent: Mackenzie Brady, New Leaf Literary & Media. (Oct.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews