Coupon
Beasts Made of Night
by Tochi Onyebuchi


Overview - ..".The beginning of a great saga..." --NPR.org

"This compelling Nigerian-influenced fantasy has a wonderfully unique premise and lush, brilliant worldbuilding that will consume you until the last page."-- Buzzfeed

..".Unforgettable in its darkness, inequality, and magic." -- VOYA , Starred Review

..".A paean to an emerging black legend."-- Kirkus Reviews , Starred Review

Black Panther meets Nnedi Okorafor's Akata Witch in Beasts Made of Night , the first book in an epic fantasy duology.  Read more...


 
In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 22 copies from $8.70
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Beasts Made of Night by Tochi Onyebuchi
 
 
 
Overview
..".The beginning of a great saga..." --NPR.org

"This compelling Nigerian-influenced fantasy has a wonderfully unique premise and lush, brilliant worldbuilding that will consume you until the last page."--Buzzfeed

..".Unforgettable in its darkness, inequality, and magic." --VOYA, Starred Review

..".A paean to an emerging black legend."--Kirkus Reviews, Starred Review

Black Panther meets Nnedi Okorafor's Akata Witch in Beasts Made of Night, the first book in an epic fantasy duology.

In the walled city of Kos, corrupt mages can magically call forth sin from a sinner in the form of sin-beasts--lethal creatures spawned from feelings of guilt. Taj is the most talented of the aki, young sin-eaters indentured by the mages to slay the sin-beasts. But Taj's livelihood comes at a terrible cost. When he kills a sin-beast, a tattoo of the beast appears on his skin while the guilt of committing the sin appears on his mind. Most aki are driven mad by the process, but Taj is cocky and desperate to provide for his family.

When Taj is called to eat a sin of a member of the royal family, he's suddenly thrust into the center of a dark conspiracy to destroy Kos. Now Taj must fight to save the princess that he loves--and his own life.

Debut author Tochi Onyebuchi delivers an unforgettable series opener that powerfully explores the true meaning of justice and guilt. Packed with dark magic and thrilling action, Beasts Made of Night is a gritty Nigerian-influenced fantasy perfect for fans of Paolo Bacigalupi and Nnedi Okorafor.

iBooks Most Anticipated YA Books of the Fall
io9's All the Science Fiction and Fantasy Books to Keep On Your Radar This Fall
BuzzFeed's 22 YA Novels You'll Want To Read From Cover To Cover This Fall
A 2017 BookExpo Buzz Book
A Junior Library Guild Selection

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780448493916
  • ISBN-10: 0448493918
  • Publisher: Razorbill
  • Publish Date: September 2018
  • Page Count: 320
  • Reading Level: Ages 12-UP
  • Dimensions: 8.1 x 5.4 x 0.9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.52 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Young Adult Fiction > Social Themes - New Experience
Books > Young Adult Fiction > Fantasy - Dark Fantasy
Books > Young Adult Fiction > Action & Adventure - Survival Stories

 
BAM Customer Reviews