Coupon
The Beekeeper's Lament : How One Man and Half a Billion Honey Bees Help Feed America
by Hannah Nordhaus


Overview -

"You'llnever think of bees, their keepers, or the fruits (and nuts) of their laborsthe same way again." --Trevor Corson, author of The Secret Life of Lobsters

Award-winning journalist Hannah Nordhaus tells the remarkable story of John Miller, one of America's foremost migratory beekeepers, and the myriad and mysterious epidemics threatening American honeybee populations.  Read more...


 
Paperback
  • $14.99
  • 20% off for Members: Get the Club Price
    $ 11.99

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock. Place Order by Noon EST December 18th and Choose Free/Standard Shipping for Christmas Delivery.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 56 copies from $2.99
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 

More About The Beekeeper's Lament by Hannah Nordhaus
 
 
 
Overview

"You'llnever think of bees, their keepers, or the fruits (and nuts) of their laborsthe same way again." --Trevor Corson, author of The Secret Life of Lobsters

Award-winning journalist Hannah Nordhaus tells the remarkable story of John Miller, one of America's foremost migratory beekeepers, and the myriad and mysterious epidemics threatening American honeybee populations. In luminous, razor-sharp prose, Nordhaus explores the vital role that honeybees play in American agribusiness, the maintenance of our food chain, and the very future of the nation. With an intimate focus and incisive reporting, in a book perfect for fans of Eric Schlosser's Fast Food Nation, Michael Pollan's The Botany of Desire, and John McPhee's Oranges, Nordhaus's stunning expose illuminates one the most critical issues facing the world today, offering insight, information, and, ultimately, hope.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780061873256
  • ISBN-10: 006187325X
  • Publisher: Harper Perennial
  • Publish Date: May 2011
  • Page Count: 269
  • Dimensions: 7.97 x 5.45 x 0.69 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.47 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Nature > Animals - Insects & Spiders
Books > Technology & Engineering > Agriculture - General
Books > Business & Economics > Industries - Agribusiness

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2011-03-14
  • Reviewer: Staff

In this revelatory, bittersweet investigation into the state of commercial beekeeping in the 21st century, Nordhaus follows the migratory life of a commercial beekeeper, John Miller, as he trucks his bees between California and North Dakota, pollinating almond orchards, defending his territory of "bee yards" (flowering pastures), collecting honey, and, against all odds, keeping his bees and his business alive. It turns out that colony collapse disorder, which recently brought awareness of bees and their essential agricultural function to an oblivious public, is only the most recent of numerous threats to bee health, from 19th-century plagues of wax moth comb invasion to more recent infestations of tracheal and varroa mites that "killed nearly every single one of the continent's feral colonies, obliterating the wild bees that once did much of the work pollinating the nations crops and flowers." According to Nordhaus, hives survive now only with drugs administered by their keepers, who, in a profession where disaster is commonplace and profit elusive, are becoming nearly as exotic and endangered as their bees. Miller, smart, antisocial with humans, but tender toward bees and prone to writing ironic free-verse e-mails, keeps the narrative lively despite its often grim content. (June)

 
BAM Customer Reviews