Coupon
Beer Money : A Memoir of Privilege and Loss
by Frances Stroh and Erin Bennett


Overview - In the tradition of Rich Cohen's Sweet and Low and Sean Wilsey's Oh the Glory of it All, a memoir of a city, an industry, and a dynasty in decline, and the story of a young artist's struggle to find her way out of the ruinsFrances Stroh's earliest memories are ones of great privilege: shopping trips to London and New York, lunches served by black-tied waiters at the Regency Hotel, and a house filled with precious antiques, which she was forbidden to touch.  Read more...

 
Audio Compact Disc - Unabridged
  • $29.95

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Beer Money by Frances Stroh; Erin Bennett
 
 
 
Overview
In the tradition of Rich Cohen's Sweet and Low and Sean Wilsey's Oh the Glory of it All, a memoir of a city, an industry, and a dynasty in decline, and the story of a young artist's struggle to find her way out of the ruinsFrances Stroh's earliest memories are ones of great privilege: shopping trips to London and New York, lunches served by black-tied waiters at the Regency Hotel, and a house filled with precious antiques, which she was forbidden to touch. Established in Detroit in 1850, by 1984 the Stroh Brewing Company had become the largest private beer fortune in America and a brand emblematic of the American dream itself; while Stroh was coming of age, the Stroh family fortune was estimated to be worth $700 million.But behind the beautiful facade lay a crumbling foundation. Detroit's economy collapsed with the retreat of the automotive industry to the suburbs and abroad, and the Stroh family found their wealth and legacy disappearing. As their fortune dissolved in a little over a decade, the family was torn apart internally by divorce and one family member's drug bust; disagreements over the management of the business; and disputes over the remaining money they possessed. Even as they turned against one another, looking for a scapegoat on whom to blame the unraveling of their family, they could not anticipate that even far greater tragedy lay in store.Stroh's memoir is elegantly spare in structure and mercilessly clear-eyed in its self-appraisal--at once a universally relatable family drama and a great American story.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781504712712
  • ISBN-10: 1504712714
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audiobooks
  • Publish Date: May 2016


Related Categories

Books > Biography & Autobiography > Personal Memoirs
Books > Biography & Autobiography > Rich & Famous

 
BAM Customer Reviews