Coupon
Beware That Girl
by Teresa Toten and Jorjeana Marie


Overview - For fans of We Were Liars, Gone Girl, and The Girl on the Train comes a powerful psychological thriller with a gripping pace and Hitchcockian twists. Set against the backdrop of New York City, this compelling novel delves into the dysfunctional yet mesmerizing world of the mega-wealthy elite and will keep readers guessing until the very last page.  Read more...

 
Audio Compact Disc - Unabridged
  • $50.00
  • 20% off for Members: Get the Club Price
    $ 40.00

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Beware That Girl by Teresa Toten; Jorjeana Marie
 
 
 
Overview
For fans of We Were Liars, Gone Girl, and The Girl on the Train comes a powerful psychological thriller with a gripping pace and Hitchcockian twists. Set against the backdrop of New York City, this compelling novel delves into the dysfunctional yet mesmerizing world of the mega-wealthy elite and will keep readers guessing until the very last page.

The Haves. The Have-Nots. Kate O'Brien appears to be a Have-Not. Her whole life has been a series of setbacks she's had to snake her way out of--some more sinister than others. But she's determined to change all that. She's book-smart. She's street-smart. And she's also a masterful liar. As the scholarship student at the elite Waverly School in NYC, Kate has her work cut out for her: her plan is to climb the social ranks and land a spot at Yale. She's already found her -people- among the senior-class -it- girls--specifically in the cosseted, mega-wealthy yet deeply damaged Olivia Sumner. As for Olivia, she considers Kate the best friend she's always needed, the sister she never had.
When the handsome and whip-smart Mark Redkin joins the Waverly administration as head of fund-raising, he immediately charms his way into the faculty's and students' lives, becoming especially close to Olivia, a fact she's intent on keeping to herself. It becomes increasingly obvious that Redkin poses a threat to Kate, too, in a way she can't reveal--and can't afford to ignore. Mark has his own plan for a bright future and never doubts that he can pull it off. How close can Kate and Olivia get to him without having to share their dark pasts?
-Combines a Gossip Girl milieu with the unsettled psychological terrain of Gone Girl.- --PW
-It's smart, dark, entertaining, and unpredictable.- --Quill & Quire, Starred

From the Hardcover edition.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780399569302
  • ISBN-10: 0399569308
  • Publisher: Listening Library (Audio)
  • Publish Date: May 2016
  • Reading Level: Ages 14-UP
  • Dimensions: 5.9 x 5.1 x 0.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.4 pounds


Related Categories

Books > > Thrillers & Suspense
Books > > Romance - General
Books > > Social Themes - Friendship

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2016-08-29
  • Reviewer: Staff

After surviving a horrific and traumatic childhood, Kate went through foster care and has now landed as a scholarship student at the elite Waverly School. Having learned to be cunning and opportunistic in order to survive, she targets Olivia, a rich girl with emotional problems, and becomes her best friend, manipulating Olivia into inviting her to live in her mansion and enjoy the finer things in life. But Kate begins to genuinely care about Olivia, and when a handsome, charming, slick sexual predator named Mark Redkin gets a high-level job at the school and begins to victimize Olivia, Kate is determined to save her friend. Reader Marie creates the perfect voice for each character—a growly, jaded, sardonic tone for Kate (which becomes sweet and polite when sucking up to teachers and counselors); a high-pitched, naïve-sounding voice for Olivia; a deep, smooth, seductive voice for Mark. Marie’s expert narration keeps the tension and suspense high and will have listeners riveted as dark secrets are revealed and the plot takes unexpected twists and turns, leading to a shocking conclusion. Ages 14–up. A Delacorte hardcover. (May)

 
BAM Customer Reviews