Coupon
Beyond the Wild River
by Sarah Maine


Overview - For fans of Kate Morton and Beatriz Williams, a highly atmospheric and suspenseful historical novel, set in the 1890s about a Scottish heiress who unexpectedly encounters her childhood friend in North America, five years after he disappeared from her family's estate the night of a double murder.  Read more...

 
Paperback
  • Retail Price: $16.00
  • $10.65
    (Save 33%)

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 35 copies from $3.08
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Beyond the Wild River by Sarah Maine
 
 
 
Overview
For fans of Kate Morton and Beatriz Williams, a highly atmospheric and suspenseful historical novel, set in the 1890s about a Scottish heiress who unexpectedly encounters her childhood friend in North America, five years after he disappeared from her family's estate the night of a double murder.

Nineteen-year-old Evelyn Ballantyre has rarely strayed from her family's estate in the Scottish Borderlands, save for the occasional trip to Edinburgh, where her father, a respected magistrate, conducts his business--and affairs of another kind. Evelyn has always done her duty as a daughter, hiding her boredom and resentment behind good manners--so when an innocent friendship with a servant is misinterpreted by her father as an illicit union, Evelyn is appalled.

Yet the consequence is a welcome one: she is to accompany her father on a trip to North America, where they'll visit New York City, the 1893 World's Fair in Chicago, and conclude with a fishing expedition on the Nipigon River in Canada. Now is her chance to escape her cloistered life, see the world, and reconnect with her father.

Once they're on the Nipigon, however, Evelyn is shocked to discover that their guide is James Douglas, the former stable hand and her one-time friend who disappeared from the estate after the shootings of a poacher and a gamekeeper. Many had assumed that James had been responsible, but Evelyn never could believe it. Now, in the wilds of a new world, far from the constraints of polite society, the truth about that day, James, and her father will be revealed...to stunning consequences.

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781501126956
  • ISBN-10: 1501126954
  • Publisher: Atria Books
  • Publish Date: April 2017
  • Page Count: 336
  • Dimensions: 8.2 x 5.3 x 0.9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.6 pounds


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Historical - General
Books > Fiction > Literary

 
BAM Customer Reviews