A Bitter Truth
by Charles Todd


Overview -

"Highly recommended--well-rounded, believable characters, a multi-layered plot solidly based on human nature, all authentically set in the England of 1917...an outstanding and riveting read."
-- New York Times bestselling author Stephanie Laurens

"Bess Crawford is a strong and likable character."
-- Washington Times

Already deservedly lauded for the superb historical crime novels featuring shell-shocked Scotland Yard inspector Ian Rutledge ( A Lonely Death, A Pale Horse et al), acclaimed author Charles Todd upped the ante by introducing readers to a wonderful new series protagonist, World War One battlefield nurse Bess Crawford.  Read more...


 
Paperback
  • $14.99

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
New & Used Marketplace 40 copies from $2.99
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About A Bitter Truth by Charles Todd
 
 
 
Overview

"Highly recommended--well-rounded, believable characters, a multi-layered plot solidly based on human nature, all authentically set in the England of 1917...an outstanding and riveting read."
--New York Times bestselling author Stephanie Laurens

"Bess Crawford is a strong and likable character."
--Washington Times

Already deservedly lauded for the superb historical crime novels featuring shell-shocked Scotland Yard inspector Ian Rutledge (A Lonely Death, A Pale Horse et al), acclaimed author Charles Todd upped the ante by introducing readers to a wonderful new series protagonist, World War One battlefield nurse Bess Crawford. Featured for a third time in A Bitter Truth, Bess reaches out to help an abused and frightened young woman, only to discover that no good deed ever goes unpunished when the good Samaritan nurse finds herself falsely accused of murder. A terrific follow up to Todd's A Duty to the Dead and An Impartial Witness, A Bitter Truth is another thrilling and evocative mystery from "one of the most respected writers in the genre" (Denver Post) and a treat for fans of Elizabeth George, Anne Perry, Martha Grimes, and Jacqueline Winspear.


 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780062015716
  • ISBN-10: 0062015710
  • Publisher: William Morrow & Company
  • Publish Date: May 2012
  • Page Count: 340
  • Dimensions: 8 x 5.42 x 0.85 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 0.59 pounds

Series: Bess Crawford Mysteries #1

Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Mystery & Detective - Women Sleuths
Books > Fiction > Mystery & Detective - Historical
Books > Fiction > Mystery & Detective - Amateur Sleuth

 
BAM Customer Reviews