Coupon
Black-Eyed Susans : A Novel of Suspense
by Julia Heaberlin


Overview - TOP 5 SUNDAY TIMES AND USA TODAY BESTSELLER For fans of Laura Lippman and Gillian Flynn comes an electrifying novel of stunning psychological suspense.

My book of the year so far . . . breathtakingly, heart-stoppingly brilliant.
  Read more...

 
Paperback
  • $16.00
  • Members Save 10% Club Price
    $ 14.40

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
Download

This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About Black-Eyed Susans by Julia Heaberlin
 
 
 
Overview
TOP 5 SUNDAY TIMESAND USA TODAY BESTSELLER For fans of Laura Lippman and Gillian Flynn comes an electrifying novel of stunning psychological suspense.

My book of the year so far . . . breathtakingly, heart-stoppingly brilliant. Sophie Hannah, New York Times bestselling author of The Monogram Murders
I am the star of screaming headlines and campfire ghost stories.I am one of the four Black-Eyed Susans.The lucky one.
As a sixteen-year-old, Tessa Cartwright was found in a Texas field, barely alive amid a scattering of bones, with only fragments of memory as to how she got there. Ever since, the press has pursued her as the lone surviving Black-Eyed Susan, the nickname given to the murder victims because of the yellow carpet of wildflowers that flourished above their shared grave. Tessa s testimony about those tragic hours put a man on death row.
Now, almost two decades later, Tessa is an artist and single mother. In the desolate cold of February, she is shocked to discover a freshly planted patch of black-eyed susans a summertime bloom just outside her bedroom window. Terrified at the implications that she sent the wrong man to prison and the real killer remains at large Tessa turns to the lawyers working to exonerate the man awaiting execution. But the flowers alone are not proof enough, and the forensic investigation of the still-unidentified bones is progressing too slowly. An innocent life hangs in the balance. The legal team appeals to Tessa to undergo hypnosis to retrieve lost memories and to share the drawings she produced as part of an experimental therapy shortly after her rescue.
What they don t know is that Tessa and the scared, fragile girl she was have built a fortress of secrets. As the clock ticks toward the execution, Tessa fears for her sanity, but even more for the safety of her teenaged daughter. Is a serial killer still roaming free, taunting Tessa with a trail of clues? She has no choice but to confront old ghosts and lingering nightmares to finally discover what really happened that night.
Shocking, intense, and utterly original, Black-Eyed Susans is a dazzling psychological thriller, seamlessly weaving past and present in a searing tale of a young woman whose harrowing memories remain in a field of flowers as a killer makes a chilling return to his garden.
Praise for Black-Eyed Susans
A masterful thriller that shouldn t be missed . . . brilliantly conceived, beautifully executed . . . Julia] Heaberlin s work calls to mind that of Gillian Flynn. Both writers published impressive early novels that were largely overlooked, and then one that couldn t be: Flynn s Gone Girl and now Heaberlin s Black-Eyed Susans. Don t miss it. The Washington Post

A] gem of a novel . . . richly textured, beautifully written . . . Tension builds, and the plot twists feel earned as well as genuinely surprising. The Boston Globe
A tense, slow-burning, beautifully written novel of survival and hope. Highly recommended. William Landay, New York Times bestselling author of Defending Jacob
Deliciously twisty and eerie, Heaberlin s third psychological suspense novel is intricately layered and instantly compelling. Library Journal (starred review)
Brilliant . . . a breakout book. Fort Worth Star-Telegram

From the Hardcover edition."

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780804178013
  • ISBN-10: 0804178011
  • Publisher: Ballantine Books
  • Publish Date: May 2016
  • Page Count: 368


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Thrillers - Suspense
Books > Fiction > Contemporary Women
Books > Fiction > Psychological

 
BAM Customer Reviews