Coupon
The Black and White Factory
by Eric Telchin and Diego Funck


Overview - Introducing The Black and White Factory , an interactive and entertaining picture book in the vein of Herve Tullet's Press Here and Mix It Up
Welcome to the Black and White Factory Penguin, zebra, and panda will take you on a top-secret tour to see some black and white products that are made here, like salt and pepper shakers, dice, half decks of playing cards (only spades and clubs ), chess pieces, and tuxedos, in addition to a few special experimental projects.
  Read more...

 
Hardcover
  • $17.99
  • 20% off for Members: Get the Club Price
    $ 14.39

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

In Stock Online.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
> Check In-Store Availability

In-Store pricing may vary

 
 
 
 

More About The Black and White Factory by Eric Telchin; Diego Funck
 
 
 
Overview
Introducing The Black and White Factory, an interactive and entertaining picture book in the vein of Herve Tullet's Press Here and Mix It Up
Welcome to the Black and White Factory Penguin, zebra, and panda will take you on a top-secret tour to see some black and white products that are made here, like salt and pepper shakers, dice, half decks of playing cards (only spades and clubs ), chess pieces, and tuxedos, in addition to a few special experimental projects. There are a few rules, though:
No messes.
No colors.
No surprises allowed.
EVER.
But when the tour gets to the bar code room, some color has seeped in It's up to the reader to try and rub it off and tilt the book so that it comes off, but nothing works The animals then use a giant cleaning contraption and need you to help blow into the nozzle to power the machine, and it starts to work But there's too much color to clean, and it blows color all over the factory. And the animals love it But of course, they'll have to change the rules a bit now:
No messes,
No colors,
No surprises allowed.
forEVER

 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9781499802771
  • ISBN-10: 1499802773
  • Publisher: Little Bee Books
  • Publish Date: August 2016
  • Page Count: 40
  • Reading Level: Ages 4-8


Related Categories

Books > Juvenile Fiction > Concepts - Colors
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Interactive Adventures
Books > Juvenile Fiction > Imagination & Play

 
Publishers Weekly Reviews

Publishers Weekly® Reviews

  • Reviewed in: Publishers Weekly, page .
  • Review Date: 2016-05-16
  • Reviewer: Staff

Telchin (See a Heart, Share a Heart) takes the interactive format of Hervé Tullet’s Press Here and other similar titles and builds a story around it. The factory of the title is responsible for coloring things black and white. It’s staffed by a zebra, panda, and penguin, naturally, and the rules are strict: “No messes. No colors. No surprises allowed. Ever.” In the bar code room, the animals discover an orange stripe. “How did color get inside our perfectly clean factory?” the penguin cries. “Use your fingers to wipe the color off the bar code,” the panda directs readers. “Go on, put some muscle into it!” With each page turn and reader action, the mess worsens and the color intensifies—until, of course, the animals realize that color is a feature, not a bug. The storytelling drags, and the conclusion is visible from a mile off, but the labels on the factory’s machines provide giggles as a tank of black paint runs into two different sprayers labeled “Dalmatian spots” and “cow spots,” while a wall poster notes that “correct” zebra stripes run vertically, rather than side to side. Ages 4–8. (Aug.)

 
BAM Customer Reviews