Coupon
The Boat Runner
by Devin Murphy


Overview -

In the tradition of All The Light We Cannot See and The Nightingale, comes an incandescent debut novel about a young Dutch man who comes of age during the perilousness of World War II.

Beginning in the summer of 1939, fourteen-year-old Jacob Koopman and his older brother, Edwin, enjoy lives of prosperity and quiet contentment.  Read more...


 
Paperback
  • Retail Price: $15.99
  • $10.39
    (Save 35%)

Add to Cart + Add to Wishlist

PRE-ORDER NOW:
This item will ship on September 5, 2017. If you order this item now, it will not delay the rest of your order.

FREE Shipping for Club Members
 
 
PREORDER NOW: Download on
September 05, 2017


This item is available only to U.S. billing addresses.
 
 
 
 

More About The Boat Runner by Devin Murphy
 
 
 
Overview

In the tradition of All The Light We Cannot See and The Nightingale, comes an incandescent debut novel about a young Dutch man who comes of age during the perilousness of World War II.

Beginning in the summer of 1939, fourteen-year-old Jacob Koopman and his older brother, Edwin, enjoy lives of prosperity and quiet contentment. Many of the residents in their small Dutch town have some connection to the Koopman lightbulb factory, and the locals hold the family in high esteem.

On days when they aren't playing with friends, Jacob and Edwin help their Uncle Martin on his fishing boat in the North Sea, where German ships have become a common sight. But conflict still seems unthinkable, even as the boys' father naively sends his sons to a Hitler Youth Camp in an effort to secure German business for the factory.

When war breaks out, Jacob's world is thrown into chaos. The Boat Runner follows Jacob over the course of four years, through the forests of France, the stormy beaches of England, and deep within the secret missions of the German Navy, where he is confronted with the moral dilemma that will change his life--and his life's mission--forever.

Epic in scope and featuring a thrilling narrative with precise, elegant language, The Boat Runner tells the little-known story of the young Dutch boys who were thrown into the Nazi campaign, as well as the brave boatmen who risked everything to give Jewish refugees safe passage to land abroad. Through one boy's harrowing tale of personal redemption, here is a novel about the power of people's stories and voices to shine light through our darkest days, until only love prevails.


 
Details
  • ISBN-13: 9780062658012
  • ISBN-10: 0062658018
  • Publisher: Harper Perennial
  • Publish Date: September 2017
  • Page Count: 384


Related Categories

Books > Fiction > Literary
Books > Fiction > Coming of Age

 
BAM Customer Reviews